The following list is courtesy of Michael O'Connor, Special Collections at Hofstra University
Public libraries and local historical societies are great sources of local history. Click on the links below for contact information.
The Long Island Studies Institute (LISI), a cooperative endeavor of Hofstra University and Nassau County, is a major center for the study of Long Island local and regional history. The Institute's research facility—which is open to scholars, teachers, students, and the general public—includes:
• Archival Collections
• Census Records
• Government Documents
• Audiovisual Materials
The various collections within the Institute include the Nassau County Museum's Reference Collection, Hofstra University's James N. MacLean American Legion Memorial Collection, as well as other collections donated by individual Long Island families and businesses. These resources constitute a rich repository for local history research. (this information is taken directly from the LISI website)
Hofstra University Library Special Collections Department / Long Island Studies Institute
123 Hofstra University | 032 Axinn Library | Hempstead, New York | 11549-1230
Voice: (516) 463-6411 | Fax (516) 463-6442 | E-Mail: LISI@Hofstra.edu
The list below provides access to digital materials. Please note that there are many, many more collections available. You can make an appointment to view those collections that have not yet been digitized.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University