LibGuides: Northwell/ZSOM Health Equity: Disability and Health

Northwell Information and Policies

Deaf Health Services
Information for staff on Sign Language Interpretation services available at Northwell.
#100.53 - Court-Appointed Guardian for Adults
#100.87 - Service Animals: Accommodation of Individuals with Disabilities including those with Service Animals
#100.88 - People Who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing

Resources

Disability, CBR & Inclusive Development
Northwell / ZSOM
Disability and Health Journal
Northwell / ZSOM
see note...close notes
ISSN: 1936-6574
Disability and Rehabilitation
Northwell / ZSOM
see note...close notes
ISSN: 0963-8288
Journal of Intellectual & Developmental Disability
Northwell / ZSOM
see note...close notes
ISSN: 1366-8250
Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
Northwell / ZSOM
see note...close notes
ISSN: 0964-2633
Sexuality and Disability
Northwell / ZSOM
see note...close notes
ISSN: 0146-1044
Technology & Disability
Northwell / ZSOM
see note...close notes
current with 12 month delay.
ISSN: 1055-4181

Behavioral Health Disability by Pamela A. Warren (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387098142
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
Northwell / ZSOM
The purpose of this book is to demystify the evaluation and management of common psychological disorders and psychosocial issues which impact all realms of medical and mental health practice. These types of issues are often seen as "medical quicksand" by treating professionals, employers, and insurers alike. Consequently, there is a system-wide avoidance of these disorders that significantly increase medical and disability costs.
Disability As Diversity by Lisa Meeks (Editor); Leslie Neal-Boylan (Editor)
ISBN: 978-3-030-46187-4
Publication Date: 2020-06-18
Northwell / ZSOM
Administrators and faculty in medical, nursing and health science programs are witnessing a substantial increase in the number of students with disabilities entering their programs. Concurrently, the benefits of diversity in healthcare are becoming increasingly apparent and important. By developing a workforce that mirrors the patient population, we can appropriately inform disability care, reducing health care disparities while embracing the tenets of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA), namely equal opportunity, full participation, independent living, and economic self-sufficiency for qualified individuals with disabilities.
Disability As Diversity: A Case Studies Companion Guide by Leslie Neal-Boylan (Editor); Lisa Meeks (Editor)
ISBN: 978-3-030-55886-4
Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Northwell / ZSOM
This book of case studies is the perfect companion to Meeks' and Neal-Boylan's recently-published book Disability as Diversity. It contains ten cases related to medicine and nursing but with significant relevance to other health professions. Each case is preceded by an introduction with instructions on how to use it.
Prevention of Chronic Diseases and Age-Related Disability by Jean-Pierre Michel (Editor)
ISBN: 978-3-319-96529-1
Publication Date: 2018-11-12
Northwell / ZSOM
This book explains how to promote and prolong "healthy ageing," which constitutes maintaining daily functioning and well-being until the end of life. In this context, the editor of the book and the international team of authors, all of whom are experts on the various aspects of ageing, demonstrate the value of this new approach in clinical practice.
Public Health Perspectives on Disability by Donald J. Lollar (Editor); Willi Horner-Johnson (Editor); Katherine Froehlich-Grobe (Editor)
ISBN: 978-1-0716-0888-3
Publication Date: 2020-09-24
Northwell / ZSOM
This edition includes new and updated chapters that have particular relevance for public health practice: Disability, Intersectionality, and Inequity: Life in the Margins Disability and Health Programs: Emerging Partners Children with Special Healthcare Needs Disasters and Disability: Rhetoric and Reality Inter-relationship of Health Insurance and Employment for People with Disabilities Public Health, Work, and Disability Actions to Prepare a Competent Workforce.

NYS Department of Health Data - Disability
Annual Disability Statistics Compendium
Web-based tools that pool disability statistics published by various federal agencies together in one place. When working on legislative and other matters relating to persons with disabilities, the Compendium, Supplement, and State Reports make finding and using disability statistics easier.
Disability Statistics (Cornell)
Collection of disability statistics, status reports, and research tools.
UN Disability Statistics
Department of Labor Disability Statistics
CDC Data and Statistics on Disability and Health

ada.gov
Website on the Americans with Disabilities Act with information for people with disabilities, state and local governments, and businesses
Job Accomodation Network
Features the Job Accommodation Network (JAN), an international toll-free consulting service that provides information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities. JAN also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Provides access to English and French versions of the United States and Canadian JAN resources. Contains employment tips and JAN reports. Links to the home page of the President's Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities. Contains links to copies of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), ADA regulations, accessibility guidelines, and technical assistance manuals prepared by the US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
National Rehabilitation Information Center
An online gateway to an abundance of disability- and rehabilitation-oriented information organized in a variety of formats designed to make it easy for users to find and use. Includes access to NRIC journals and research.

iLearn Courses

To find iLearn Courses, access the platform here and then search for the desired course title

Disability Etiquette

During this 35 minute course you will learn about the importance of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, what is disability etiquette, how to use Disability Etiquette for respectful communication and interaction with people who have disabilities, and changes that can be made in an office environment to improve accessibility to individuals with disabilities. This course also contains a number of Informative videos, which will help you learn about the do's and don'ts when interacting with people who have disabilities. The content in this training is maintained by the Northwell Health N-ABLE BERG (888-84NABLE). N-ABLE BERG is a resource center that provides a safe environment for those touched by disability through education, resources, and support. This course includes closed captioning.

Cultural Considerations for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Population

This engaging and highly interactive 25-minute module presents: - Cultural considerations for the deaf/hard of hearing population - Short video clips highlighting the importance of language access - Background information on American Sign Language - How Northwell meets patient/family needs through holistic modalities Considerations when working with interpreters (in-person and virtually)

BERG

N-Able: Members include people with disabilities, caregivers, clinicians, and allies who are advocates and advisors on issues of acceptance, inclusion, and belonging. They share resources and promote inclusive employment, exceptional patient and team member experience, and health equity for people with disabilities.