LibGuides: SOM Health Equity: Health Disparities & Social Determinants of Health

Definition: Health Disparities

"Health disparities are differences in the presence of disease, health outcomes, quality of health care and access to health care services that exist across racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic groups."¹

¹https://reducedisparity.org/about-us-2/what-are-health-disparities/
Image credit: https://blog.ncqa.org/multicultural-addresses-disparities/

Definition: Social Determinants of Health

"Social determinants of health are conditions in the environments in which people are born, live, learn, work, play, worship, and age that affect a wide range of health, functioning, and quality-of-life outcomes and risks."¹

¹& Image Credit: https://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/topics-objectives/topic/social-determinants-of-health

Health Disparities & Social Determinants of Health Resources

Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations by Talmadge E. King; Margaret B. Wheeler; Alicia Fernandez; Dean Schillinger; Andrew B. Bindman et al.
ISBN: 9780071834445
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Northwell Access
ZSOM Access
Health Disparities by Adam Perzynski (Editor); Sarah Shick (Editor); Ifeolorunbode Adebambo (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030127701
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
Northwell Access
ZSOM Access
EHealth Solutions for Healthcare Disparities by Michael Christopher Gibbons (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387728148
Publication Date: 2007-10-03
Northwell Access
ZSOM Access

Literature Databases

Embase
A comprehensive, multipurpose, and up-to-date database covering over 29 million indexed records from international biomedical literature, from 1947 (including Embase Classic) to the present day.
FAIR Database
"The Finding Answers Intervention Research Database is a searchable tool containing 388 journal article summaries, distilled from 11 systematic reviews of the published health disparities literature."
LGBTQ+ Source Database
A database that provides full-text coverage for the most important and historically significant literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.
Native Health Database
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Note: Currently under construction. No new items are being added until April 2021.
PubMed
Comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus
Database of citations and abstracts from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.

Point-of-Care

VisualDx
VisualDx is a clinical tool that provides access to over 23,000 peer-reviewed images and concise information for over 1200 diagnoses. Click on the Dermatology Skin of Color icon to filter by skin pigmentation.

Health Equity [Open Access]
Available Access: 2017-current
Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities
Available Access: 2014-current
Northwell Access
ZSOM Access
Journal of Health Disparities Research and Practice [Open Access]
Available Access: 2007-current
Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved
Ethnicity & Health
Available Access: 1997-Current
Northwell Access
ZSOM Access
Ethnicity & Disease
Available Access: 2015-current (6 mo embargo)
Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health
Available Access: 1999-current
Northwell Access
ZSOM Access

CDC’s Social Determinants of Health Website
Health Disparities Bibliography
Provides a comprehensive list of reference sources on health disparities in the United States, including key federal reports. Updated July 2021.
Health People 2020: Social Determinants of Health
A subject guide that provides an overview, interventions and resources, and national snapshots on the topic of social determinants of health.
NY State Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities Prevention (OMH-HDP)
List of resources provided by OMH-HD
Social Determinants of Health General Resources
Indexed journal articles, position papers, individual lectures, websites, videos, and other data sources pertaining to social determinants of health that can be used to build curricula. Provided by Northwestern University.
US Department of Health and Human Services - Office of Minority Health
Resources dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.

AHA Disparities Toolkit
"The Toolkit is a Web-based tool that provides hospitals, health systems, clinics, and health plans information and resources for systematically collecting race, ethnicity, and primary language data from patients."
Aquifer Social Determinants of Health Course
A course that provide students with an introduction to the topic of social determinants of health. Case 1 provides an overview of what constitutes a social determinant of health and the effects on patients. Cases 2 and 3 present clinical scenarios to explore language and poverty as social determinants of health. Access to the Aquifer platform required.
Health Disparities Calculator (HD*Calc)
Statistical software designed to generate multiple summary measures to evaluate and monitor health disparities (HD). HD*Calc was created as an extension of SEER*Stat. Created by the National Cancer Institute.
NIH Library of Medicine, Health Services Research Information Central, Health Disparities
Click on the Health Education Tools and Toolkits for "tools and toolkits that can be used to educate, provide guidance and framework for, and engage healthcare professionals on health disparities, population health, and the social determinants of health."
REFLEX-ISS Tool
A tool for teams to observe, understand, and analyze an intervention with regard to social inequalities in health. This discussion tool is not intended to measure the impact or the effectiveness of an intervention in reducing SIH; rather, its main objective is to open up dialogue on SIH.
Social Determinants of Health Curriculum Collection
An indexed database of curricula and assessment materials - including courses, simulation, SP cases, and experimental learning opportunities. Part of the Anti-Racism Curriculum Collection. Provided by Northwestern University.
Tools for Putting Social Determinants of Health into Action
CDC tools and resources that can help practitioners take action to address SDOH.

Compendium of Federal Datasets Addressing Health Disparities
A free resource of publicly available data relevant to research and programs aiming to reduce health disparities by exploring the relationship between socioeconomic factors and the social determinants of health. The Compendium, an initiative of the Interdepartmental Health Equity Collaborative (IHEC), includes data and data-related resources from various federal agencies within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
HealthPeople2020: Social Determinants of Health Data
NY State Department of Health
Minority health data and statistics provided by the NY State Department of Health