LibGuides: Northwell/ZSOM Health Equity: Addressing Racism and Promoting Allyship

Summer Book Series on Race and Racism (By Week)

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

White Fragility (42 Concurrent Users) by Robin DiAngelo; Michael Eric Dyson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780807047415
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

Avoiding the 6-Ds that Stifle Anti-Racist Discourse

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

How to Be an Antiracist (40 Concurrent Users) by Ibram X. Kendi
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
White Fragility (42 Concurrent Users) by Robin DiAngelo; Michael Eric Dyson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780807047415
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

How to Be an Antiracist (40 Concurrent Users) by Ibram X. Kendi
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

Anti-racist Neighboring: Where Will You Live? How will you neighbor?

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

Slavery by Another Name (1 User) by Douglas A. Blackmon
ISBN: 9780385722704
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

Just Mercy (5 Concurrent Users) by Bryan Stevenson
ISBN: 9780812984965
Publication Date: 2015-08-18
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

Black and Blue (Unlimited Users) by John Hoberman
ISBN: 9780520248908
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Just Medicine (325 Concurrent Users) by Dayna Bowen Matthew
ISBN: 9781479896738
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Medical Apartheid (40 Concurrent Users) by Harriet A. Washington
ISBN: 9780385509930
Publication Date: 2007-01-09
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

Black and Blue (Unlimited Users) by John Hoberman
ISBN: 9780520248908
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Just Medicine (325 Concurrent Users) by Dayna Bowen Matthew
ISBN: 9781479896738
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

Black and Blue (Unlimited Users) by John Hoberman
ISBN: 9780520248908
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Just Medicine (325 Concurrent Users) by Dayna Bowen Matthew
ISBN: 9781479896738
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

Complete Summer Book Series on Race and Racism Reading List

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

White Fragility (42 Concurrent Users) by Robin DiAngelo; Michael Eric Dyson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780807047415
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
How to Be an Antiracist (40 Concurrent Users) by Ibram X. Kendi
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Medical Apartheid (40 Concurrent Users) by Harriet A. Washington
ISBN: 9780385509930
Publication Date: 2007-01-09
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Black and Blue (Unlimited Users) by John Hoberman
ISBN: 9780520248908
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Just Medicine (325 Concurrent Users) by Dayna Bowen Matthew
ISBN: 9781479896738
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

Additional Resources

To view ebook content via the Northwell Access link you must either be at a Northwell site or access via the EMIL app on myRemoteAccess.

Between the World and Me (5 Concurrent Users) by Ta-Nehisi Coates
ISBN: 9780812993547
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Black and Blue (Unlimited Users) by John Hoberman
ISBN: 9780520248908
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Black Man in a White Coat by Damon Tweedy
Call Number: WZ100 T971b 2015
ISBN: 9781250044631
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Breathe (1 User) by Imani Perry
ISBN: 9780807076552
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Culturally Sensitive Supervision and Training by Kenneth V. Hardy (Editor); Toby Bobes (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138124608
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
Northwell Access
ZSOM Access
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation (1 User) by Keeang-Yamahtta Taylor
ISBN: 9781608465620
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
How Cancer Crossed the Color Line by Keith Wailoo
ISBN: 9780195170177
Publication Date: 2011-02-04
ZSOM Access
How to Be an Antiracist (40 Concurrent Users) by Ibram X. Kendi
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Infectious Fear by Samuel Kelton Roberts
ISBN: 9780807832592
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
ZSOM Access
Invisible No More (1 User) by Andrea Ritchie; Angela Y. Davis (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780807088982
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Just Medicine (325 Concurrent Users) by Dayna Bowen Matthew
ISBN: 9781479896738
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Just Mercy (5 Concurrent Users) by Bryan Stevenson
ISBN: 9780812984965
Publication Date: 2015-08-18
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Medical Apartheid (40 Concurrent Users) by Harriet A. Washington
ISBN: 9780385509930
Publication Date: 2007-01-09
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
The New Jim Crow : Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness (Unlimited Users) by Michelle Alexander
ISBN: 9781620971949
Publication Date: 2020
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
The Philadelphia Negro (the Oxford W. E. B. du Bois) by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); W. E. B. Du Bois; Lawrence Bobo (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9780199957958
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
ZSOM Access
The Racial Healing Handbook by Anneliese A. Singh
ISBN: 9781684032709
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Zucker SOM access
Print also available at Zucker SOM
Seeing Patients (325 Concurrent Users) by Augustus A. White; David Chanoff
ISBN: 9780674241374
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Slavery by Another Name (1 User) by Douglas A. Blackmon
ISBN: 9780385722704
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access
Stamped from the Beginning (1 User) by Ibram X. Kendi
ISBN: 9781568584638
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Zucker SOM access
White Fragility (42 Concurrent Users) by Robin DiAngelo; Michael Eric Dyson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780807047415
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Northwell access
Zucker SOM access

Academic Medicine and Black Lives Matter: Time for Deep Listening
JAMA. 2020 Jun 30. doi: 10.1001/jama.2020.12532.
(Northwell Access / ZSOM Access)
Addressing Disparities in Academic Medicine: What of the Minority Tax?
BMC Med Educ. 2015 Feb 1;15:6. doi: 10.1186/s12909-015-0290-9.
"Changing the Narrative": A Study on Professional Identity Formation Among Black/African American Physicians in the U.S
Adv Health Sci Educ Theory Pract. 2020 Jun 22. doi: 10.1007/s10459-020-09978-7.
(Northwell Access / ZSOM Access)
Economic Reforms Might be the Best Health-Care Reforms
Washington Post Article
Hidden in Plain Sight — Reconsidering the Use of Race Correction in Clinical Algorithms
N Engl J Med. 2020 Jun 17. doi: 10.1056/NEJMms2004740.
(Northwell Access / ZSOM Access)
How Medical Education Is Missing the Bull's-eye
N Engl J Med. 2020 Jun 25;382(26):2489-2491. doi:10.1056/NEJMp1915891.
(Northwell Access / ZSOM Access)
Racism and Health: Evidence and Needed Research
Annu Rev Public Health. 2019 Apr 1;40:105-125.
Understanding How Discrimination Can Affect Health
Health Serv Res. 2019 Dec;54 Suppl 2(Suppl 2):1374-1388.

Article Collections

Addressing Harmful Bias and Eliminating Discrimination in Health Professions Learning Environments (Academic Medicine Suppl.) Academic Medicine Supplement 2020 Dec; 95(12S)
Addressing Race and Racism in Medical Education (Academic Medicine Coll.) A collection of Academic Medicine articles curated with the intent to help readers engage in necessary conversations about race and to inform strategies to eliminate structural racism in their institutions.
Diseases Linked to Racism
History of Racism in Medicine and Medical Exploitation
NEJM Race and Medicine A selection of articles on race and medicine, with implications for improving patient care, professional training, research, and public health.
Race and Genetics
Racism and Algorithms
Racism and Medical Perception

Anti-Racism Curriculum Collection
An indexed database of curricula and assessment materials - including courses, simulation, SP cases, and experimental learning opportunities. Provided by Northwestern University.
Developing a Medical School Curriculum on Racism: Multidisciplinary, Multiracial Conversations Informed by Public Health Critical Race Praxis (PHCRP)
Ethn Dis. 2018 Aug 9;28(Suppl 1):271-278. doi: 10.18865/ed.28.S1.271.
Diversity & Inclusion Toolkit Resources
A list of resources curated by the AAMC that aid diverse academic medicine professionals in their career development.
Diversity and Inclusion Strategic Planning Toolkit
A guide created by the AAMC that provides nine essential tasks to help navigate the diversity and inclusion strategic planning process.
MedEdPortal_Anti-racism in Medicine Collection
This collection provides educators with practice-based, peer-reviewed resources to teach anti-racist knowledge and clinical skills, elevates the educational scholarship of anti-racist curricula, and aims to convene a community of collaborators dedicated to the elimination of racism within medical education.
STFM Resource Library
A collection of workshop or curricular materials from the STFM.
Syllabus: A History of Anti-Black Racism in Medicine
A syllabus from Black Perspectives, a blog of the African American Intellectual History Society. The syllabus is the history of anti-Blackness in American medicine.
Dismantling Structural Racism to Advance Health Equity
Online course by NextGenU.

Black Lives Matter LibGuide
Created by David Woolwine, Hofstra University
Film and Media Collections: Black Lives Matter
Created by Hofstra Librarians
Multicultural Health
Created by Connie Wong, Stanford University
Racism in Medicine and Healthcare
Compiled by Kathryn Houk, UNLV

Resource Lists

AAMC_Racism and Health
A curated collection of articles and resources to assist our member institutions, constituents, and the public in learning more about and exploring the complex issues and strategies to combat racism and make health care more diverse, equitable, and inclusive.
Allyship, Equity & Inclusion Resource Document (ZSOM)
Let's get educated: A compilation of resources to educate both yourself and others on how to be an anti-racist
Racial Equity Tools
A guide to research, websites, tools, and practice on health equity topics.
What to read, listen to and watch to learn about institutional racism
Source: PBS

Documents

Becoming anti-racist infographic
Source: https://www.surgeryredesign.com/
Discussing racism, race and ethnicity in the workplace (Northwell)
Equity Handbook (ZSOM)
Equity Handbook_Glossary (ZSOM)

Organizational Strategic Plan to Embed Racial Justice and Advance Health Equity (2021-2023)
Published by the American Medical Association (AMA).