As the COVID-19 pandemic evolves, we will update this page frequently with the latest freely available resources to get you the information you need to best support our Northwell Health clinicians, and most importantly, care for our patients.
If you would like a literature search run in PubMed for COVID-19 research and evidence for the care of specific patient populations (pediatrics, obstetrics, oncology, etc.) or more specific issues (ethics, surge planning, etc.) please contact your hospital librarian.
If you need immediate access to the full-text of any article, please contact your hospital librarian, who can provide the full-text at no cost to you.
If you do not know how to contact your hospital librarian, please contact our Library at emil@northwell.edu for your librarian's contact information.
Check back as this list may become updated with more resources as they become available. Newly added resources will be marked "New!" Report any technical difficulties with this LibGuide as provided here.
Society for Hospital Medicine (SHM) Critical Care for the Hospitalist Series
This educational series covers common or high-risk clinical scenarios that hospitalists encounter in and out of the intensive care unit, covered over seven modules on SHM’s Learning Portal. Now being offered for free. You must register for an account to unlock the modules.Society for Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician
Access the Society of Critical Care Medicine's (SCCM) complimentary online training, Critical Care for Non-ICU Clinicians. The number of patients is expected to surge in hospitals across the United States, which may result in the need for non-ICU clinicians to care for critically ill patients. SCCM and its members are committed to supporting all clinicians on the front lines of this pandemic. SCCM's Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician provides online education to healthcare professionals who could benefit from critical care training. Be prepared with this free resource by signing up for access at this website.If you need access to point-of-care tools such as UpToDate or DynaMed or to the full array of information resources available from Northwell Health Libraries, please contact emil@northwell.edu.
Case Series from Northwell Health published in JAMA - April 22, 2020
In this case series that included 5700 patients hospitalized with COVID-19 in the Northwell Health hospitals, the most common comorbidities were hypertension, obesity, and diabetes. Among patients who were discharged or died (n = 2634), 14.2% were treated in the intensive care unit, 12.2% received invasive mechanical ventilation, 3.2% were treated with kidney replacement therapy, and 21% died. Citation: Richardson S, Hirsch JS, Narasimhan M, et al. Presenting Characteristics, Comorbidities, and Outcomes Among 5700 Patients Hospitalized With COVID-19 in the New York City Area. JAMA. Published online April 22, 2020. doi:10.1001/jama.2020.6775. Case series has been covered in Time Magazine, The Washington Post, CNN, and other major news outlets.Resources from the U.S. Government, New York State DOH, and International Organizations:
CDC COVID19 Information for Health Professionals
CDC's current guidance and resources for health professionals about COVID-19CDC COCA Emergency Preparedness and Response Webinars
From the Clinician Outreach and Communication Activity (COCA) of the CDC, subject matter experts present key emergency preparedness and response topics, followed by meaningful Q&A with participants. In 2020, all calls have been about the response to COVID-19. Find links to slides and recordings from past calls and information about upcoming calls regarding the U.S. response to the pandemic. The 4/2/20 COCA Webinar is highly recommended.New York State Department of Health COVID-19 Information Center for Healthcare Providers
Information Center for Healthcare professionals from the NYS DOH. Includes Health Advisories, Webinars, Printable Materials, and Guidance.NY State on Pause
The resource center for New York State's COVID-19 Response. Important information for the public about the PAUSE order currently in effect, employee rights and benefits, and other topics are available here.NYC Department of Health COVID-19 Information for Professionals
The information below is intended to provide guidance to health care providers in New York City on testing and preparedness for COVID-19. Includes daily syndromic and case data updates.NIH iSearch COVID-19 portfolio
The iSearch COVID-19 portfolio is NIH’s comprehensive, expert-curated source for publications and preprints related to COVID-19 and SARS-CoV-2. Our COVID-19 Portfolio tool leverages the cutting-edge analytical capability of the iSearch platform, with its powerful search functionality and faceting, and includes articles from PubMed and preprints from arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv, Research Square, and SSRN. The portfolio is updated daily with the latest available data.NIH COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines
From the NIH, these Treatment Guidelines have been developed to inform clinicians how to care for patients with COVID-19. Because clinical information about the optimal management of COVID-19 is evolving quickly, these Guidelines will be updated frequently as published data and other authoritative information becomes available.NIH COVID-19 Resources & News
Get the latest updates in news and research on COVID-19 from the NIH.Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience.LitCovid from the National Libraries of Medicine
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 1200 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMedWHO Global research on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
The WHO is providing a database of COVID-19 research for its Emergency Team. Provides downloadable citations (RIS, Excel, CSV, etc.)Clinical Trials re: COVID-19 from Clinicaltrials.gov
A search on ClinicalTrials.gov for the Wuhan Coronavirus, COVID-19, 2019-nCoV, and SARS-CoV-2Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 data hub from NCBI
From the NCBI Virus database, search, retrieve, and analyze SARS-CoV-2 GenBank data.New! AHRQ COVID-19 Resources
The AHRQ provides resources for Practice Improvement, Health Systems Research, Funding Resources, Data and Analytics, COVID-Related Topics and Conditions, and Benchmarks on the Healthcare System.Research and Data from Journals - Now Available Open Access:
A Note of Caution: Preprint articles, or "Epub ahead of print," should always be considered works in progress as they may not be peer reviewed or entirely reliable on their own as either scientific evidence, public policy or the basis of treatment. In some cases, retractions may not appear in PubMed or other sites for several days or weeks. Follow Retraction Watch at https://retractionwatch.com/ for notices about retraction or ask your hospital librarian to check for you if you have concerns about the reliability of any recently published literature.
Cochrane COVID-19 Study Register
Cochrane is providing a register of studies involving COVID-19 patients. Studies can be filtered by type (observational, modelling, etc.), design, aim, and intervention assignment.NEJM COVID-19 Free Resource Center
Free research and articles on COVID-19 from the NEJM.COVID-19: NEJM Journal Watch Coverage
From NEJM Watch: Continuously updated lists as NEJM publishes new stories on SARS-CoV-2 and the associated disease COVID-19 in NEJM Journal Watch and Physician's First Watch.JAMA Network COVID-19 Collection
This collection includes including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness, and more.Lancet COVID-19 Free Resources
The Lancet's Free COVID-19 resource centerThe Journal of Infectious Diseases (IDSA) COVID-19 Resource Center
Links to open access articles and resources from the Infectious Diseases Society of AmericaOvid Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network (GIDEON)
A comprehensive and accurate database of global infectious diseases. Scroll down to access COVID-19 resources from Gideon, the AHA journal, Anesthesiology journal, the Journal of Public Health Management and Practice, and more. Free from Ovid through March 2020.An AHA Compendium: COVID-19 Content
The American Heart Association is working to ensure optimal care for patients with cardiovascular disease who contract coronavirus (COVID-19). Patients with underlying cardiovascular diseases appear to have an increased risk for adverse outcomes with COVID-19. Here are some helpful resources for health systems, clinics, care providers, patients and the public.AJOG Maternal Fetal Medicine (MFM) Guidance on COVID-19
a growing list of guidance on COVID-19 from the AJOG, including Boelig RC, Saccone G, Bellussi F, Berghella V, MFM Guidance for COVID-19, American Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecology MFM (2020), doi: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajogmf.2020.100106.Hunter Rice Health Science Library OBGYN Collection
This link will take you to the Google Drive for the OBGYN Collection of resources pertaining to COVID-19, curated by the Hunter Rice Health Science Library. Updated frequently.American Academy of Pediatrics Redbook Online: 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Infections
Browse this comprehensive list of resources concerning how the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) affects pediatric patients from the Redbook Online.American College of Emergency Physicians COVID-19 Resource Center (Includes Field Guide)
The ACEP's COVID-19 resource center includes access to their daily COVID-19 Clinical Alerts; Member Updates; Breaking News; Clinical Assessment & Management, Testing, and Personnel information resources; as well as their engagED COVID-19 Forum, where you can share information in real-time with other emergency physicians.AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central
The AccessMedicine channel for the latest information on the COVID-19 global pandemic.Annals of Internal Medicine COVID-19 Content
A collection of Annals of Internal Medicine articles related to coronavirus is freely available at this site.Association of American Medical Colleges Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resource Hub
The AAMC continues to monitor guidance from federal, state, and local health agencies as it relates to the coronavirus (COVID-19). Find information and updates from AAMC on this emerging global health concern.BMJ Coronavirus (COVID-19) Literature
Access the latest news and resources about the pandemic from BMJ.CHEST Journal Resources & News re: COVID-19
From CHEST, the journal of the American College of Chest Physicians, access content such as the CHEST Guideline on COVID-19, Advice From the Front Lines, Community Experiences, Clinical Resources, Practice Management Resources, Research on COVID-19, the CHEST Task Force and Expert-led e-Learning ModulesCOVID-19 Open Research Dataset
A Free, Open Resource for the Global Research Community covid-image In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 45,000 scholarly articles, including over 33,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.ECRI COVID-19 Resource Center
ECRI has developed this resource center to help hospitals, ambulatory care, and aging care facilities protect healthcare workers, residents, and patients.New! From epocrates: COVID-19 Drug Therapy Trial Updates
Free from epocrates, this website provides an organized list of pre-filtered search results by drug at ClinicalTrials.gov. Get quick access to current clinical trials on Drugs w/ antiviral activity (eg, remdesivir, hydroxycholoroquine), Immunomodulating drugs (eg, azithromycin, tocilizumab), Adjunctive drugs (eg, ascorbic acid, anticoagulants), Convalescent plasma, Immune globulin (IVIG) and Vaccines.From the Gold Foundation: The Jeffrey Silver Humanism in Healthcare Research Roundup - COVID-19 Edition
From the Gold Foundation: The Jeffrey Silver Humanism in Healthcare Research Roundup features summaries of recently published studies on humanism in healthcare. This special edition highlights studies from previous Research Roundup editions that are particularly relevant in the age of COVID-19. As healthcare systems adapt to address the challenges posed by the pandemic, we focus on how we can maintain and strengthen humanism in healthcare during these trying times.Health Affairs COVID-19 Collection
A collection of COVID-19 (Coronavirus Disease) content from Health Affairs journal articles, podcasts, and additional resources provides timely commentary, expert analysis, and policy proposals.Hunter Rice Health Science Library Therapeutics Collection
This link will take you to the Google Drive for the Therapeutics Collection of resources pertaining to COVID-19, curated by the Hunter Rice Health Science Library. Updated frequently.ISMP COVID-19 Resources
The Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), an ECRI affiliate, has curated a list of information and tools to help frontline healthcare workers during the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic address medication issues.COVID-19 Resource Center by EBSCO
EBSCO's resource center with free CDC updates, travel guidance, research, and more.From the NASEM: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) News and Resources
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) News and Resources from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Includes rapid expert consultations, virtual events, selected resources, and information about the Standing Committee on Emerging Infectious Diseases and 21st Century Health Threats.Oxford University Press COVID-19 Resources
Free access to Oxford University Press resources on COVID-19, other coronaviruses, and related topics. Includes journal articles and e-books. Recent additions to the hub include content relating to mechanical ventilation, respiratory assessment, acutely ill patients, and the basics of critical care.PAHO COVID-19 guidance and the latest research in the Americas
From the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), this searchable database provides access to technical guidelines, scientific publications, and ongoing research protocols from the Americas and affected countries worldwide regarding the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic.Radiological Society of North America Special Focus: COVID-19
Locate the resource hub for the RSNA's journals, blogs, webcasts, and images regarding the COVID-19 pandemic.Springer Nature COVID-19 Literature
Springer Nature provides free access to related research articles from their journals, as well as additional commentary on this topic and relevant books.Dimensions Digital Science Research Doc
Digital Science Research updates this Google Sheet and the CSV sheet available on figshare that provides information about the latest research on COVID-19 prior to peer-reviewed publication.Wiley Online Library: Covid-19 - Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access
Access free content from the Wiley Online Library about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).University of Nottingham Centre of Evidence Based Dermatology
CEBD Coronavirus Resource for Dermatology is a collection of guidelines, web resources and journal articles on coronavirus relevant to skin diseases and dermatology. The resources will be updated regularly with the results of new searches using specially compiled search strategies.University of Basel COVID Evidence Center
COVID-evidence is a continuously updated database of the worldwide available evidence on interventions for COVID-19. Led by an expert review team of clinicians from the University of Basel, Stanford University, Oxford University, and others, this database provides information about worldwide planned, ongoing, and completed trials on any intervention to treat or prevent SARS-CoV-2-infections. They combine automatic search strategies with expert manual extraction of key trial characteristics performed in duplicate.VA Library Network PubMed Search Alert
This is a literature search alert indexed in PubMed for the VA Library Network. Abstracts in the results list are of recent articles and resources related to the 2019-nCoV Outbreak/COVID-19.AMA Journal of Ethics: COVID-19 Ethics Resource Center
As communities and nations work together to confront the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic, difficult decisions lie ahead that raise potential challenges, such as rationing limited health care resources, imposing restrictions to individual movement and liberties, and upholding professional duty to treat in the face of personal danger. These resources aim to promote ethical reflection and decision making during this pandemic.A cluster randomised trial of cloth masks compared with medical masks in healthcare workers (BMJ Open 2015).
MacIntyre CR, Seale H, Dung TC, et al. A cluster randomised trial of cloth masks compared with medical masks in healthcare workers. BMJ Open. 2015;5(4):e006577. Published 2015 Apr 22. doi:10.1136/bmjopen-2014-006577Too Many Patients…A Framework to Guide Statewide Allocation of Scarce Mechanical Ventilation During Disasters (Chest 2019)
Biddison ELD, Faden R, Gwon HS, et al. Too Many Patients…A Framework to Guide Statewide Allocation of Scarce Mechanical Ventilation During Disasters. Chest. 2019;155(4):848-854. doi:10.1016/j.chest.2018.09.025.Clinical Ethics Recommendations for the Allocation of Intensive Care Treatments, in Exceptional, Resource-Limited Circumstances
From the Società Italiana di Anestesia Analgesia Rianimazione e Terapia Intensiva (Siaarti) of Italy.Intensive care medicine: triage in case of bottlenecks guideline
From the Swiss Academy of Arts & SciencesAACN COVID-19 Pulmonary, ARDS and Ventilator Training Resources
To date, the most serious reported symptoms from COVID-19 are pulmonary complications. “COVID-19 Pulmonary, ARDS and Ventilator Resources” quickly provides learners with the knowledge and resources to provide essential care to ICU patients with coronavirus. To support you and other nurses who need to cross train to care for patients with COVID-19, AACN is making this eLearning course available for all nurses, at no charge, to provide vital resources during this challenging time.AACN Coronavirus Resources for Nurse Educators
To support the information needs of nursing school deans, faculty, students, and other stakeholders, AACN has developed this resource center to highlight key information sources about the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) found on the web. This page will be updated regularly.AACN COVID-19 Response Webinar Series
These webinars are free and open to the public. There is an attendance limit at 1,000 attendees.ANA COVID-19 Response Center
Learn more about the American Nurses Association's response to the COVID-19 pandemic through the ANA Enterprise coronavirus resources webpage, social media channels and email communications.American Psychiatric Nurses Association COVID-19 Resources
To support psychiatric-mental health nurses as they address concerns and promote mental health during this time, here are resources containing information about mental health and the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). As additional information becomes available, more resources will be shared.Emergency Nurses Association COVID-19 Resource Center
ENA has dedicated this page to collect the most relevant, up-to-date news as well as valuable resources regarding COVID-19.JBI Evidence-Based Resources for COVID-19
This free access JBI Special Collection provides health professionals and health organisations with the best available evidence on infection prevention and infection control measures. The JBI COVID-19 Special Collection includes JBI Evidence Summaries that provide a succinct summary of the best available evidence related to a clinical topic including best practice recommendations to help clinicians mobilise evidence into practice, and JBI Recommended Practices that provide standardised, detailed descriptions of best practice care procedures.Lippincott 2019 Novel Coronavirus: COVID-19 Resource Center
A collection of web-based free resources from the Lippincott Nursing Center.Lippincott Nursing Center Coronavirus: Resources for Nurse Educators
To support you with the latest evidence-based information about the COVID-19/Coronavirus, the team at Wolters Kluwer wanted to share some free resources to help you navigate next steps for your program and your students.Bibliography of Evidence for Prone Positioning of COVID-19 Patients
This bibliography, current as of 4.14.20, provides evidence for the use of prone positioning to treat COVID-19 patients, including guidelines, training materials, and evidence specific to proper positioning, self-proning, feeding, and skin care. Curated by Stacy Posillico, Health Sciences Librarian for the Eastern Region Hospitals.AMA Code of Ethics: Withholding or Withdrawing Life-Sustaining Treatment
The full-text of this section of the AMA Code of Ethics.IHI's How to Talk to Your Patients about End-of-Life Care Toolkit (2019)
: Lally KM, McCutcheon Adams K, Zambeaux A, Joshi C, Sokol-Hessner L. How to Talk to Your Patients about End-of-Life Care: A Conversation Ready Toolkit for Clinicians. Boston: Institute for Healthcare Improvement; 2019. (Available on ihi.org)AACN End of Life Care Support for Nurses During COVID-19
From the AACN ELNEC (End of Life Care), the Support for Nurses During COVID-19 platform offers free education, advocacy, and support for nurses. Access free educational modules such as Self-Care Strategies to Deal with Moral Distress & Compassion Fatigue; Communication Skills Needed During the Pandemic; Care of Seriously Ill Patients & Their Families in the Last Days of Life; Dealing with Loss, Grief & Bereavement in a Pandemic; and Primary Palliative Care Amidst a Disaster. Also access free webinars regarding nursing care during the pandemic.Center to Advance Palliative Care: COVID-19 Response Resources
Access this extensive list of resources from the Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC), including communication scripts and conversation videos, symptom management protocols, resilience resources, and virtual office hours to chat with experts on the issues. CAPC is part of the nonprofit Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.The Conversation Project's Guide: Being Prepared in the Time of COVID-19
Download a brand new guide specific to COVID-19. With the generous support from the Cambia Health Foundation, The Conversation Project and Ariadne Labs teamed up to create this new tool to help people take action and be prepared. The guide is also available in Spanish.Vital Talk's COVID Ready Communication Playbook
Access a free copy of Vital Talk's crowdsourced playbook for clinicians to provide some practical advice on how to talk about some difficult topics related to COVID-19. Available in a multitude of languages.From AAMC: Hospitals painfully prepare for life and death decisions
On April 7, 2020, Patrick Boyle, staff writer for the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC), considered the ethical implications of difficult decisions facing clinicians during the COVID-19 pandemic.From IOM: Dying in America (2015)
From the Institute of Medicine, Dying in America (2015) evaluates strategies to integrate care into a person- and family-centered, team-based framework, and makes recommendations to create a system that coordinates care and supports and respects the choices of patients and their families.Collection of Articles Indexed in PubMed
Access this librarian-curated list of 35 abstracts of relevant articles indexed in PubMed. Current as of 4/17/20.NAM: Resources to Support the Health of Clinicians During the COVID-19 Outbreak
In the face of the unprecedented challenges created by the COVID-19 pandemic and the accompanying global public health emergency, the National Academy of Medicine’s Action Collaborative on Clinician Well-Being and Resilience is giving its attention to this issue and providing these resources for clinician well-being, as well as resources for healthcare leadership well-being.IHI's Let's Stick Together While Staying Apart
By Pedro Delgado, this piece examines the idea that even in the face of a pandemic and the need for physical distancing, "human creativity and need for connection are ever growing and ever flowing, particularly during tough times."Headspace
Guided meditation at work resourcesTara Brach's Meditation: A Practice of RAIN
A free 20 minute guided meditation that guides you in Recognizing, Allowing, Investigating, and Nurturing difficult emotions.Tara Brach's Brief Meditation: Arriving in Mindful Presence
5 minute guided meditation for mindfulness - when you need just a few minutes to be mindful.Marconi Union - Weightless (Official 10 Hour Version)
10 hour version of a song some call the most relaxing, anxiety-reducing music you can find.SafeSpaceHealth [App]
An app offering coaching, debriefing, and wellbeing support in an anonymous Twitter-like space. The app can be downloaded from the App Store, not yet available on Google Play.Virtual Communities
A freely available Google Doc provided by the Group on the Student Affairs listserv.New! NY State's NY>Forward Reopening Guide: From the Governor's Office
The Office of New York State Governor Cuomo's official data-driven strategy to gradually and safely re-open New York.New! NY State's Regional Reopening Monitoring Dashboard
Created by the New York State Governor's Office, this dashboard displays the official status for each of the 10 regions in New York State in meeting the 7 required metrics for reopening. The metrics are explained below the dashboard.New! WATCH: Dr. Anthony Fauci Opening Statement at Senate committee hearing - 5/12/20
WATCH: Dr. Anthony Fauci gives opening statement during Senate committee hearing on coronavirus on May 12, 2020. Video is from PBS and available on YouTube.New! Joint Statement: Roadmap for Resuming Elective Surgery after COVID-19 Pandemic
The American College of Surgeons, American Society of Anesthesiologists, Association of periOperative Registered Nurses, and the American Hospital Association released a joint statement of principles and considerations to guide physicians, nurses and local facilities in their resumption of care for operating rooms and all procedural areas. Dated April 17, 2020.From Johns Hopkins: Public Health Principles for a Phased Reopening During COVID-19: Guidance for Governors
This document provides an assessment of the risk of SARS-CoV-2 transmission in a variety of organizations and settings that have been closed during the period in which physical distancing and mitigation measures have been put in place. The document outlines steps to reduce potential transmission during the reopening of these organizations and settings.CMS Recommendations for Re-opening Facilities for Non-Emergent Care
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Recommendations for Re-opening Facilities to Provide Non-emergent Non-COVID-19 Healthcare: Phase ILive World Update on Coronavirus from Worldmeter
A live map of COVID-19 cases around the world that is updated several times a day.Johns Hopkins Covid-19 Dashboard: Global
Johns Hopkins’ COVID-19 tracking map now shows cases around the world, as well as US COVID-19 cases by city and countyNew! Children's Hospital of Philadelphia COVID-Lab: Mapping COVID-19 In Your Community
An interdisciplinary team from Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and the University of Pennsylvania, alongside global experts, are tracking and projecting the COVID-19 epidemic across 389 counties with active outbreaks as it spreads across the United States. Utilizing data from a variety of publicly available sources, the researchers built their model to observe how social distancing, population density, and daily temperatures affect the number and spread of COVID-19 infections over time across a county, accounting for population characteristics, such as age, insurance status and smoking prevalence.Coronavirus in the U.S.: Latest Map and Case Count from the NY Times
An interactive map tracking COVID-19 cases in the United States from the New York TimesWHO Daily Situation Reports
Updated daily, the WHO reports on the COVID-19 pandemic around the world.CDC COVID-19 Cases, Data, and Surveillance
Offers many data resources, including the Data Tracker: maps and charts tracking cases, deaths, and trends of COVID-19 in the U.S.; and the Forecasting tool: mathematical modeling that forecasts cases, hospitalizations and deaths from COVID-19 based on current data.NYS DOH County by County Breakdown of Positive Cases
Updated frequently, this is the official tally of diagnosed COVID-19 cases in New York State, broken down county by county.IHME COVID-19 Projections
From IHME: The charts at this site show projected hospital resource use based on COVID-19 deaths. The model assumes continued social distancing until the end of May 2020. The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington.Mathematica COVID-19 Curated Data, Modeling, and Policy Resources
COVID-19 presents an urgent need for data and tools for states, health care decision makers, providers, and others to predict need and direct resources, based on the best available evidence. Data sources, analytic tools, policy options, and other resources are increasing rapidly. Below is a preliminary list of resources organized by Mathematica from publicly available resources.Allen Institute for AI CORD-19 Explorer
The CORD-19 Explorer is a full-text search engine for the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset. Their hope is that it helps people explore the dataset and identify potential research efforts.ASPR TRACIE: Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Resource Center
Brought to you by the U.S. Government Department of HHS ASPR, the Technical Resources, Assistance Center, and Information Exchange (TRACIE) was created to meet the information and technical assistance needs of regional ASPR staff, healthcare coalitions, healthcare entities, healthcare providers, emergency managers, public health practitioners, and others working in disaster medicine, healthcare system preparedness, and public health emergency preparedness.Joint Commission Surge Hospitals: Providing Safe Care in Emergencies
Guide from the Joint Commission. Current as of April 2, 2020.Joint Commission Emergency Mgmt. Healthcare Environment Checklist
New guidelines from Joint Commission. Current as of April 2, 2020.Joint Commission: Use of ASCs as Alternative Care Sites for Hospitals
New guidance from the Joint Commission on using Ambulatory Surgery Centers (ASC) as alternative care Sites for hospitals. Current as of April 8, 2020.CDC Nat'l Stds. for State & Local Planning. CAPABILITY 10: Medical Surge
From the CDC: Public Health Preparedness Capabilities: National Standards for State and Local Planning. CAPABILITY 10: Medical SurgeJohns Hopkins PACER Surge Simulation
The National Center for the Study of Preparedness and Catastrophic Event Response (PACER) has created a publicly available simulation tool called Surge to estimate surge capacity for user-defined hospitals.GNYHA Agency Surge Planning Guidance
Includes surge planning tools such as Bed Surge Capacity Expansion Tool (BSCET); Emergency Department Capacity Expansion Tool (EDCET); Intensive Care Unit Capacity Expansion Tool (ICUCET)Advisory Board Covid-19 Checklist to Expand Capacity
Advisory Board's researchers have worked with hospital and health system leaders in Covid-19 hotspots across the country and assembled an early checklist of table-stakes strategies that are recommended to proactively manage patient demand and staff and resource shortages.Health Industry Cybersecurity Management Checklist For Teleworking Surge During The Covid-19 Response
This checklist was developed by the Joint Cybersecurity Working Group (JCWG) of the Healthcare and Public Health Sector Coordinating Council (HSCC) – a coalition of private-sector critical healthcare infrastructure entities organized under Presidential Policy Directive 21 and the National Infrastructure Protection Plan to partner with government in the identification and mitigation of strategic threats and vulnerabilities facing the sector’s ability to deliver services and assets to the public. The JCWG is composed of more than 250 industry and government organizations working together to develop strategies to address emerging and ongoing cybersecurity challenges to the health sector.NYC Pediatric (Non-PICU) Hospital Surge Plan Guidelines
Created by the New York City Pediatric Disaster Coalition & the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (2018).PubMed Collection of Recent Articles
A short collection of 17 abstracts for evidence intended to assist in planning for a response to a surge of COVID-19 patients. Current as of 4.8.20RAND Critical Care Surge Response Tool
An Excel-Based Model for Helping Hospitals Respond to the COVID-19 CrisismedRxiv: The Preprint Server for Health Sciences
The preprint server for health sciences literature. This platform is run by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, BMJ, and Yale University. A link to COVID-19 preprints found on medRxiv is available. Caution: Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.bioRxiv: The Preprint Server for Biology
The preprint server for biology literature. This platform is run by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. A link to COVID-19 preprints found on bioRxiv is available. Caution: Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.New! PsyArXiv: The Preprints Server for Psychological Sciences
A free preprint service for the psychological sciences that is maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science.Follow Retraction Watch at https://retractionwatch.com/ for notices about retraction or ask your hospital librarian to check for you if you have concerns about the reliability of any recently published literature.
A Note of Caution: Preprint articles, or "Epub ahead of print," should always be considered works in progress as they may not be peer reviewed or entirely reliable on their own as either scientific evidence, public policy or the basis of treatment. In some cases, retractions may not appear in PubMed or other sites for several days or weeks.
Tanya Shkolnikov, Senior Clinical Librarian at North Shore University Hospital has created bibliographies of COVID-19 published literature on the topics of COVID-19 treatment, diagnosis, prognosis, transmission, and for specialities such as gastroenterology and allergy. If you'd like daily updates of published COVID-19 literature, contact your hospital librarian as provided above. You can access this bibliography here:
COVID19 Bibliography as of 3.25.20
This literature is current through Wednesday, March 25, 2020. New research is constantly being adding to the knowledge base and may change some conclusions going forward. Please contact your hospital librarian for daily updates on new research regarding the response to the COVID-19 pandemic.COVID19 Bibliography as of 4.4.20
This literature is current through Saturday, April 4, 2020. New research is constantly being adding to the knowledge base and may change some conclusions going forward. Please contact your hospital librarian for daily updates on new research regarding the response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University