Skip to Main Content

Northwell Health & ZSOM_Online Teaching Resources: Online GME Educational Content

The COVID-19 pandemic has changed the way we educate healthcare professionals as we respond to this crisis and for the future. This guide provides the resources to design a dynamic learning experience for distance learning in health sciences education.

Cases, Videos, and Platforms for Remote GME Instruction

On this page, we provide a list of cases, videos, and platforms that you can use in creating digital GME instructional and didactic sessions for your residents.

All resources listed as EMIL Resources are subscription resources that we cannot link to directly for security reasons.  You can access all of them via the EMIL homepage.  

If you would like the links to the EMIL Resources below to open properly while off-site, please open the EMIL icon/app from the MyRemoteAccess platform, and then click on the link to open this LibGuide posted on the EMIL homepage in a new tab in the same Chrome browser window.

Check back as this list may become updated with free resources as they become available.  Report any technical difficulties with this LibGuide as provided here.

Platforms with Multiple Resources

EMIL RESOURCES

1.  Access Medicine: All of the McGraw Hill "Access" platforms provide online lectures, patient interview and patient safety modules, procedural videos, Case Files for hypothetical case presentations, Resident Readiness materials, Flashcards & Review Questions. Special features include: Harrison's Podclass,                  Harrison's Pathophyisology animations, diagnostic and imaging studies, and the Vanderbilt/IM Peds curriculum.

2. Access AnesthesiologySpecial features include: Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacology videos and Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology.

3. Access Emergency MedicineSpecial features include: Tintinalli's Necessary Takeaways

4. Access Neurology: Special features include: Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas

5. Access OB/GYNSpecial features include: Female Reproductive System Module, Fleischer’s Sonography Teaching Cases in Obstetrics & Gynecology

6. Access Pediatrics: Special features include: Symptom-Based Diagnosis in Pediatrics

7. Access PharmacySpecial features include: NAPLEX Review and Standardized Patient Encounters

8. Access SurgerySpecial features include: Zollinger's Video Atlas of Surgical Operations and Behind the Knife

9.  5 Minute Clinical Consult: Point-of-care reference tool that offers quick access to evidence-based recommendations on diseases and conditions, procedures, drugs, patient exercises, and lab tests.  Algorithms and charts, plus patient education is available.  Mobile app accessible.

10. Clinical Key:  Clinical Key Clinical Updates and Clinical Overviews content delivers CME credit and are easily convertible into self-guided assessment assignments for residents.  Procedural videos can also be converted into self-guided assigned cases for instruction.

11. LWW Health Libraries: Each platform offers texts, video and audio tutorials, and self-assessments. Collections offered are Basic Science, OB/GYN, Oncology, and Orthopaedic Surgery.

12. NEJM 360: GME Users must first register for a free account. Content is then accessible from any location for up to one year.
 
13. Theime Access MedOne Neurosurgery: Online platform with access to a collection of neurological and spine surgery e-Books, e-journals, point-of-care content collections, 450 Procedures , 1500 videos and Q&A Bank with more than 1500 questions to prepare for boards.  
 
14. Theime Access MedOne Plastic Surgery. Online platform with access to collection of Plastic Surgery E-Books including seminal works and essential texts for board review, such as Essentials of Plastic Surgery and Essentials of Aesthetic Surgery by. J. Janis. Contains 140 procedures, e-journals, 1800 videos and Q&A Bank with more than 1000 questions to prepare for boards. 
 
14. Visual Dx:. This online diagnostic clinical decision support system includes an extensive curated medical image library to enhance your online education presentations, and a custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder.  Also includes LearnDerm,  a self-study dermatology education resource consisting of 5 interactive lessons to help build a solid foundation in essential terminology and improve pattern recognition skills.
 

Cases

FREE RESOURCES

1. COVID-19 Patient Simulation: Link to Resource Free from CaseNetwork, provides course of a simulated patient encounter with a patient who may have COVID-19.

1. NEJM Group Covid-19 Rx: Treatment Simulations: Link to Resource Free from NEJM Group, provides course of a simulated patient encounter with patients who have mild, moderate, severe, and critical cases of COVID-19.

Videos & Tutorials

EMIL RESOURCES

1. Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: Practicing surgeons and physicians can use the Video Atlas to renew their anatomical knowledge.  Exams can be assigned for each individual unit.  Exams require an individual log-in and are only available by subscription, which we offer free to our Northwell Health users.

2. JOVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)JOVE offers almost 12,000 videos with corresponding text on clinical skills, medicine topics (including emergency medicine and obstetrics), as well as videos specific to COVID19.  JOVE Videos are only available by subscription, which we offer free to our Northwell Health users.

FREE RESOURCES

1. MedEd Portal Virtual Learning Resources: Link to Resource  MedEd Portal is an open access resource with learning modules for medical students and healthcare clinicians.  This link will lead you to peer-reviewed teaching resources that can be used for distance learning, including self-directed modules and learning activities that could be converted to virtual interactions.

2.  TVASurg (Toronto Video Atlas of Surgery) Link to Resource  The Toronto Video Atlas of Surgery is a 3D-animation enhanced surgical video atlas. It aims to instruct surgeons in the surgical care of patients with complex problems in the fields of hepato-pancreato-biliary, transplant, gynaecology, and obstetrics, and highlight the advanced surgical techniques required for the management of these patients.

Technical Difficulties with LibGuide?

Contact Stacy Posillico, Health Sciences Librarian for the Eastern Region Hospitals at Northwell Health at sposillico@northwell.edu if you encounter any technical difficulties using this guide, including broken or incorrect links.  Also, please contact Stacy if you come across any valuable resources you think would benefit your GME faculty colleagues, so that they can be posted to the guide.

We're Made for This

                             

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University