LibGuides: SOM Faculty Author Collection: Home

Introducing the Faculty Author Collection

The Health Sciences Library at the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell is happy to introduce the Faculty Author Collection. This collection contains publications that have content created by the members of our teaching faculty here at the School of Medicine. These works cover a wide variety of medical and health science related topics. Some of these books are traditional texts, while others are geared towards patient education and health.

We would like to thank those authors who generously donated their works in the pursuit of furthering the education of both our students and the members of the public.

If you are a faculty member of the Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell and would like to donate a publication that you authored, please contact us at medicine.library@hofstra.edu

Books by Faculty Authors

AANA Advanced Arthroscopy: The Knee by Nicholas A. Sgaglione; Arthroscopy Association of North America Staff (Contribution by); Robert E. Hunter
Call Number: WE870 A112 2010

ISBN: 1437706649

Publication Date: 2010-07-06

Nicholas A. Sgaglione, M. D. Professor and Chairman Department of Orthopaedic Surgery North Shore Long Island Jewish Medical Center
Absolute Neurocritical Care Review by Zachary Levy (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319646312

Publication Date: 2017-12-01

This practical question and answer book covers topics within the field of neurocritical care, including aspects of neurology, neurosurgery, general critical care, and emergency medicine. Each chapter serves as a standalone test, comprised of approximately 100 questions, and closely mimics the tone and scope of the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) certification exam in neurocritical care. Rationale and discussion are provided in the answers section at the end of each exam. This practical study guide will help prepare critical care fellows and residents from a variety of backgrounds (including internal medicine, neurology, anesthesiology, and emergency medicine) for the UCNS exam.
Acquired brain injury : an integrative neuro-rehabilitation approach by Jean Elbaum, Deborah M. Benson, editors
Call Number: WL354 A186 2007

ISBN: 9780387375748

Publication Date: 2007

Jean Elbaum, Ph.D. Director Transitions Outpatient Neuro-Rehabilitation
Antigen Retrieval Immunohistochemistry Based Research and Diagnostics by Shan-Rong Shi (Editor); Denis G. Baskin; Clive R. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: QW504.5 A6297 2010

ISBN: 9780470624524

Publication Date: 2010-09-28
Atlas of Liver Transplantation by Ernesto P. Molmenti; Goran B. Klintmalm
Call Number: WI17 M727a 2002

ISBN: 9780721695518

Publication Date: 2002-08-02

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Atlas of Liver Transplantation - Chinese Edition by Ernesto P. Molmenti; Goran B. Klintmalm
ISBN: 0721695515

Publication Date: 2004

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine
Atlas of Liver Transplantation - Japanese Edition by Ernesto P. Molmenti; Goran B. Klintmalm
ISBN: 0721695515

Publication Date: 2002-08-02

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine
The Bioterrorism Sourcebook by Michael R. Grey; Kenneth R. Spaeth
Call Number: WA295 G844b 2006

ISBN: 9780071440868

Publication Date: 2006-03-09

Ken Spaeth, MD MPH Director, Occupational and Environmental Medicine Center, Department of Population Health North Shore LIJ Health System; Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
Building a Culture of Patient Safety Through Simulation by Kathleen Gallo; Lawrence G. Smith
Call Number: WX185 B932 2015

ISBN: 9780826169068

Publication Date: 2014-08-01

Lawrence G. Smith, MD, MACP, Dean and Professor of Medicine, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine.
Comprehensive Pocket Atlas of Hysteroscopy by Wendy Fried ... [et al.].
Call Number: WP17 C737 2010

ISBN: 0763764371

Publication Date: 2010

Wendy Fried MD, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology North Shore LIJ Hospital System; Clinical Professor of Medicine, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
The Death of Innocents by Richard Firstman; Jamie Talan
Call Number: WM178 F527d 1997

ISBN: 9780553100136

Publication Date: 1997-09-02

Jamie Talan, Science Writer in Residence, Public Relations Department.
Deep Brain Stimulation by Jamie Talan; Richard Firstman
Call Number: WB495 T137d 2009

ISBN: 9781932594379

Publication Date: 2009-02-15

Jamie Talan, Science Writer in Residence, Public Relations Department.
Epilepsy in Women by Torbjorn Tomson (Editor); Cynthia Harden (Editor); Sanjeev V. Thomas (Editor)
Call Number: WL385 E64 2013

ISBN: 9780470672679

Publication Date: 2013-03-18

Cynthia L. Harden, M.D., Professor of Neurology, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Evidence-based treatments for eating disorders: children, adolescents and adults by Ida F. Dancyger and Victor M. Fornari (editors).
Call Number: WM175 E93 2009

ISBN: 1606923102

Publication Date: 2009

Victor Fornari, M.D. Director Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry North Shore University Hospital and Long Island Jewish Medical Center Professor of Psychiatry Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
Evidence Based Treatments for Eating Disorders - 2nd Edition by Ida F. Dancyger; Victor Fornari
Call Number: WM175 E93 2014

ISBN: 9781631174001

Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Victor Fornari, M.D. Director, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry North Shore University Hospital and Long Island Jewish Medical Center; Professor of Psychiatry, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Fatal Sequence by Kevin J. Tracey
Call Number: WO704 T759f 2005

ISBN: 9781932594065

Publication Date: 2005-03-15

Kevin J. Tracey, M.D., Director, The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research; Professor and President, Elmezzi Graduate School of Molecular Medicine; Associate Dean for Research and Professor, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine Departments of Molecular Medicine and Neurosurgery
Female Pelvic Surgery by Farzeen Firoozi (Editor)
Call Number: WJ190 F527f 2015

ISBN: 9781493915033

Publication Date: 2014-10-18
Handbook of Anticancer Drug Development by Daniel R. Budman; Alan H. Calvert; Eric K. Rowinsky
Call Number: QV269 H2357 2003

ISBN: 078174010X

Publication Date: 2003-08-05

Daniel R. Budman, MD, FACP Professor of Medicine Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine Don Monti Division of Oncology Monter Cancer Center of North Shore--LIJ Health Systems
Handbook of medicine in psychiatry by edited by Peter Manu, Raymond E. Suarez, Barbara J. Barnett
Call Number: WB141.5 H236 2006

ISBN: 158562182X

Publication Date: 2006

Peter Manu, MD Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry Zucker Hillside Hospital
Health Literacy in Nursing by Terri Ann Parnell
Call Number: WY100.1 H4345 2014

ISBN: 9780826161727

Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Heart Smart for Black Women and Latinas by Jennifer H. Mieres; Terri Ann Parnell; Carol Turkington
Call Number: WG113 M632h 2008

ISBN: 9780312372675

Publication Date: 2008-02-05

Jennifer H. Mieres, MD, FACC, FANC, FAHA, Professor of Cardiology & Population Health, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Heart Smart for Women: Six S.T.E.P.S. in Six Weeks to Heart-Healthy Living by Mieres, J.H., Rosen, S.E.
ISBN: 0984900543

Publication Date: 2017
Heavy Metals by Kenneth R. Spaeth; Antonios J. Tsismenakis; Stefanos N. Kales
Call Number: QV39 S732h 2010

ISBN: 1608766349

Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Ken Spaeth, MD MPH Director, Occupational and Environmental Medicine Center, Department of Population Health North Shore LIJ Health System; Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
The Infertility Challenge by Ellen Miller; Eileen Smith-Cavros; JTE Multimedia (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: WP570 M67i 2013

ISBN: 9780988378018

Publication Date: 2013-10-28

Ellen Hirschman Miller, M.D., Associate Professor of Medicine at the Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Intern by Sandeep Jauhar
Call Number: WZ100 J4095 2008

ISBN: 0374531595

Publication Date: 2009-01-06

Sandeep Jauhar, MD, PhD Director, Heart Failure Program, Long Island Jewish Medical Center
Intestinal and Multivisceral Transplantation by Ernesto P. Molmenti, Nikolaos T. Pyrsopoulos, Andreas G. Tzakis
Call Number: WO660 M727i 2009

ISBN: 9789603997894

Publication Date: 2009

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Intestinal and Multivisceral Transplantation by Ernesto P. Molmenti
ISBN: 9789603997894

Publication Date: 2009-02-01

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine
Introduction to vascular ultrasonography by [edited by] William J. Zwiebel, John S. Pellerito
Call Number: WG500 I637 2005

ISBN: 0721606318

Publication Date: 2005

John S. Pellerito, MD, FACR, FSRU, FAIUM Associate Chairman, Strategic Planning and Technology Chief, Division of Ultrasound, CT, MRI Director, Peripheral Vascular Laboratory Department of Radiology North Shore University Hospital Associate Professor of Radiology Hofstra North Shore - LIJ School of Medicine
Introduction to Vascular Ultrasonography - 6th Edition by John Pellerito; Joseph F. Polak
Call Number: WG500 I61 2012

ISBN: 9781437714173

Publication Date: 2012-05-17

John S. Pellerito, MD, FACR, FSRU, FAIUM Associate Chairman, Strategic Planning and Technology Chief, Division of Ultrasound, CT, MRI Director, Peripheral Vascular Laboratory Department of Radiology North Shore University Hospital Associate Professor of Radiology Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Kelly Gets a Vaccine: How We Beat Coronavirus: How We Beat Coronavirus by Lauren D Block (Author), Adam E Block (Author), Debby Rahmalia (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781734949391

Publication Date: 2020

Lauren D. Block, Associate Professor of Medicine and Science Education, Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Kelly Goes Back to School: More Science on Coronavirus by Lauren Block (Author), Adam Block (Author), Alex Brissenden (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781734949360

Publication Date: 2020

Lauren D. Block, Associate Professor of Medicine and Science Education, Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Kelly Stays Home: The Science of Coronvirus: The Science of Coronavirus by Lauren Block, Adam Block
ISBN: 9781734949315

Publication Date: 2020

Lauren D. Block, Associate Professor of Medicine and Science Education, Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation by Ernesto Pompeo Molmenti
Call Number: WJ368 M727k 2015

ISBN: 9789351523390

Publication Date: 2014-12-10
Lyme Borreliosis in Europe and North America by Sunil Kumar Sood (Editor)
Call Number: WC406 L986 2011

ISBN: 9780470647523

Publication Date: 2011-06-07

Sunil Kumar Sood, MBBS. Chairman of Pediatrics, Southside Hospital. Pediatric Infectious Disease specialist. Professor of Medicine, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine.
Manual of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology by Philip Lanzkowsky (Editor)
Call Number: WS300 L297m 2011

ISBN: 0123751543

Publication Date: 2010-09-23

Philip Lanzkowsky MD,ScD, DCH, FRCP Professor of Pediatrics Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine; Chairman Emeritus of Pediatrics, Chief of staff and Executive Director (Retired) Cohen Children's Medical Center of New York.
Parenting Your Adopted Child by Andrew Adesman; Christine A. Adamec
Call Number: WS105.5.C3 A232p 2004

ISBN: 9780071409803

Publication Date: 2004-06-09

Andrew Robert Adesman, M.D., Chief of Division of Pediatrics - Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics, North Shore University Hospital and Long Island Jewish Medical Center, Associate Professor, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Peripheral Arterial Disease by Robert S. Dieter; Raymond A. Dieter; Raymond A. Dieter
Call Number: WG500 P451 2009

ISBN: 9780071481793

Publication Date: 2009-03-17
The Pharmacotherapy of Common Functional Syndromes by Peter Manu
Call Number: WB146 M294p 2000

ISBN: 0789005883

Publication Date: 2000-07-28

Peter Manu, MD Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry Zucker Hillside Hospital
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Pocketpedia by Matthew Shatzer
Call Number: WB39 P578 2012

ISBN: 9781609132408

Publication Date: 2012-06-20

Matthew Shatzer, D.O., Chief of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, North Shore University Hospital, Assistant Professor, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Practical Urological Ultrasound by Eric A. Klein (Editor); Pat F. Fulgham (Editor); Bruce R. Gilbert (Editor)
Call Number: WJ100 P895 2013

ISBN: 9781588296023

Publication Date: 2013-04-23

Bruce Gilbert, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Urology, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Prescott's Microbiology by Joanne M. Willey, Linda M. Sherwood, Christopher J. Woolverton
Call Number: QW4 W714p 2011

ISBN: 0077350138

Publication Date: 2011

Joanne M. Willey, Ph.D. Professor Hofstra University Department of Biology and Hofstra University-North Shore/LIJ School of Medicine
Prescott's Microbiology - 9th Edition by Linda Sherwood; Joanne Willey; Chris Woolverton
Call Number: QW4 W714p 2014

ISBN: 9780073402406

Publication Date: 2013-01-08

Joanne M. Wiley, Ph.D. Professor Hofstra University Department of Biology and Hofstra University-North Shore/LIJ School of Medicine
Psychiatric Nonadherence by Victor Fornari (Editor); Ida Dancyger (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030126643

Publication Date: 2019-04-15

Victor Fornari, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics and Ida Dancyger, PhD, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra Northwell.
The Psychopathology of Functional Somatic Syndromes by Peter Manu
Call Number: WM170 M294p 2004

ISBN: 0789012596

Publication Date: 2004-03-22

Peter Manu, MD Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry Zucker Hillside Hospital
Respiratory Emergencies by Alan Fein (Editor); Stephan Kamholz (Editor)
Call Number: WF140 R434315 2006

ISBN: 9780340811955

Publication Date: 2006-11-23

Alan M Fein, Chief, Pulmonary/Critical Care. North Shore University Hospital; Long Island Jewish Medical Center. Professor, Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
Sepsis and Multiorgan Failure by Alan M. Fein; Edward M. Abraham; Robert A. Balk; Gordon R. Bernard; Roger C. Bone; David R. Dantzker; Mitchell P. Fink
Call Number: WC195 S4794 1997

ISBN: 9780683030976

Publication Date: 1997-08-01

Alan M Fein, Chief, Pulmonary/Critical Care. North Shore University Hospital; Long Island Jewish Medical Center. Professor, Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
Smith's Textbook of Endourology by Edited by Arthur D. Smith ... [et al.].
Call Number: WJ140 S664 2007

ISBN: 9781550093650

Publication Date: 2007

Arthur Smith M.D. Chairman Emeritus, Department Urology, Arthur Smith Institute of Urology, Northshore LIJ HealthSystem
Smith's Textbook of Endourology - 3rd Edition by Arthur D. Smith (Editor-In-Chief); Gopal Badlani (Editor); Louis Kavoussi (Editor); Glenn Preminger (Editor)
Call Number: WJ140 S664 2012

ISBN: 9781444335545

Publication Date: 2012-03-12

Arthur Smith M.D. Chairman Emeritus, Department Urology, Arthur Smith Institute of Urology, North Shore-LIJ Health System
Surgical Care of Major Newborn Malformations by Stephen E. Dolgin, Chad E. Hamner (editors)
Call Number: WO925 S961 2012

ISBN: 9789814322300

Publication Date: 2012-06-02

Stephen E. Dolgin, Division of Pediatric Surgery at Cohen Children's Medical Center and Professor of surgery and pediatrics at the Hofstra North Shore-LIJ Medical School
Textbook of Adolescent Health Care by editor in chief, Martin M. Fisher ; coeditors, Elizabeth M. Alderman, Richard E. Kreipe, Walter D. Rosenfield.
Call Number: WS460 T3548 2011

ISBN: 1581102690

Publication Date: 2011

Martin Fisher, MD Chief, Division of Adolescent Medicine Steven and Alexandra Cohen Children's Medical Center Professor of Pediatrics Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
Textbook of Angiology by John B. Chang, editor ; associate editors, Earl R. Olsen ... [et al.].
Call Number: WG120 T355 2000

ISBN: 0387984496

Publication Date: 2000

John B. Chang, M.D., FICA, FACS, Professor of Clinical Surgery Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine; Director, Long Island Vascular Center
Thyroidectomy by Ernesto P. Molmenti; Hebe Thioly Molmenti; Luis A. Molmenti
ISBN: 9789352700035

Publication Date: 2017-12-31

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine
Tiroidectoḿía: bases anatómicas de técnica operatoria by Ernesto Pompeo Molmentí, Hebe Thioly Molmenti, Luis A. Molmenti.
ISBN: 9962717019

Publication Date: 2018

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine
Trasplante de riñón y páncreas by Ernesto Pompeo Molmenti, en colaboración con Hebe Molmenti, Alexia Molmenti.
ISBN: 9789962678922

Ernesto P. Molmenti, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. Vice Chairman Department of Surgery; Director, Transplant Program North Shore University Hospital; Professor of Surgery and Medicine Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine

Contact Us

Wendy Herman, MLIS, AHIP
Assistant Dean of Library Services, Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Corporate Director of Libraries, Northwell Health