Skip to main content

Center for Public Archaeology Internships: Home

This guide assists those students who are involved in non-credit, academic internships with Hofstra University's Center for Public Archaeology

Introduction

This guide is for students in the Center for Public Archaeology Internship taught by Dr. Bradley D. Phillippi. 

For articles held at Hofstra University only in print use the following link to request that an electronic copy be made and emailed to you; Axinn Library Electronic Article Request Form

You can use OneSearch find both print and electronic books as well as articles. A tutorial on how to use OneSearch is included here. You can find the OneSearch button easily on the Axinn Library homepage. The Catalog (an older but simpler system) should allow you to find books (print and electronic) but not articles. There is a link to that as well here.

However most of our articles are downloadable from the databases licensed by Hofstra University Axinn Library. See the database page here for instructions on how to access them. Use Journal Finder (described there) to "jump" from one database to another if the database you are in does not hold the full text. (Usually signified by the presence of a PDF icon or that statement that the article is held in HTML format). If you are directed to a statement that Hofstra University holds the article  in the print collection then use the link above to have it scanned and sent to you.

You can also visit the Reference Desk on the Main Floor of Axinn Library for further assistance.

 

Books in Lexicat

Log on via MyHofstra and Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

To access much of the material here you will need to log on  via MyHofstra and then proceed to the library link on the side of the page. You may not need to do if accessing at certain locations at Hofstra. Also, even if you have logged on via MyHofstra you may be prompted a second time once you have accessed a database.

Electronic books, articles in licensed databases (databases Hofstra University pays for), electronic encyclopedias tend to require a log on. They are copyright protected and not accessible to the general public. You have rights as a student to those resources. Open Access resources, some of which are on the page for materials specific to this course, are not under copyright protection and are available to anyone. Some resources contain both open-access and for free resources. My suggestion is that you don pay for resources when prompted. Check back in Journal Finder to see if  Hofstra actually holds the resource already. (The open access resources do not know what Hofstra has paid for), and if we have it in a database, download it there. If it is not available via our databases, use Interlibrary Loan to get it for free from another library.

ILLiad

Your logon name and password are the same as for the MyHofstra portal. You will need to create an account the first time you use the system. Designate electronic delivery as preferred for journal articles. Books, and those articles which cannot be delivered online, will be picked up at the Circulation Desk. You will receive email notifications in all cases. Ask a librarian at the Reference Desk to walk you through the account creation if you need to.

Librarian

David Woolwine's picture
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Chat with a Librarian

Make a Research Appointment

Librarians are available for one-on-one research consultations. 

You can make an appointment to meet with a Librarian by phone or e-mail.

Click the link below to scroll through a list of research subjects and locate the librarian who specializes in your research area.



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University