Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 299: Finding Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can point you to scholarly resources world-wide. You can find articles, books, theses and dissertations, and much more. Note that you may not be able to get the full text unless Hofstra has access to it. If you log into my.hofstra.edu, you can access any full text that is available through Hofstra. If the resource is not available through Hofstra, request it from Interlibrary Loan.

Article Databases

The Research Databases, available through the library's homepage, give you access to a wide variety of aritlces, including newspaper and magazine articles, and articles in scholarly journals. The overwhelming majority of these resources are not freely available over the Internet.They are available only to Hofstra students, faculty and staff members. Please note If you are on campus at Hofstra, you can access these databases simply by clicking on the link to the database from the list of Research Databases. If you are off-campus, you will have to login, just as you do when you login to myhofstra

Here are some good databases to use in looking for literary criticism:

No Full Text? How to Find the Article Anyway

Often there will be a link to the full text of an article within the database you ware searching. Sometimes, however, there will be no full text. In that case, you will see a   link. This link will either:

1. provide a link  either directly to the article or to a database that has the full text;

2. inform you that Hofstra owns it in print, in which case you can get it on the ground floor; or

3. state that the article cannot be obtained through Hofstra and you will need to get it from Interlibrary Loan.

Need help using the link? Consult Journal Finder: How to Find the Full Text of Articles in Periodicals.

Need to Find a Specific Journal by Title?

If you know the name of a journal and want to see if Hofstra has access to the full text of its articles, you can find out from Jounral Finder. Type in the title of the Journal and find out if Hofstra has access to the full text electronically or owns it in print.

For assistance using Journal Finder, see Using Journal Finder and Find Article: A Tutorial.



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University