This database is no longer available. We suggest using Credo Reference instead.
Cabells DirectoriesAssists authors in publishing journal articles. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to journals' topic areas and lists acceptance rates. Also includes information on the style and format of most journals to further assist in organizing and preparing manuscripts.
CQ Political Handbook of the WorldProvides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system, including key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications information. Also profiles more than 38 non-UN intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
CQ Politics in AmericaProvides information on members of the U.S. Congress and their districts. Nonpartisan profiles of every member provide candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations at home and on the Hill. as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting.
CQ Supreme Court YearbookCoverage and analysis of every decision from the Supreme Court from 1989 to 2010. Includes year-end overviews, case summaries, essays on the most significant cases from each year and the trends in each term, tables and figures on voting patterns and trends in constitutional law, biographies of justices, and reference documents for understanding how the Supreme Court works.
CQ Washington Information DirectoryProvides contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyComprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics.
Gale eBooksReference eBooks on wide array of subjects.
Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full text provided by Hofstra will appear to those who have been authenticated through the Library's website.
OneSearchSearches many of HUL's print and online resources (books, ebooks, journal articles, etc.) with one search.
Oxford English DictionaryEnglish dictionary includes present-day meanings as well as the history of individual words and of the language, traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.
History
Academic Search CompleteMulti-disciplinary. Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Accessible ArchivesDiverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture. These collections are encyclopedic in scope.
America: History and LifeIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
American PeriodicalsIncludes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century. Consists of works published between 1740 and 1900. Includes journals, general interest magazines, children's publications, civil war periodicals and early professional journals.
Associated Press Images Collectioncontains over 4.6 million photographs dating back to 1826, tens of thousands of graphics, more than 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920’s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. The content is primary source and is provided by The Associated Press.
Brooklyn EagleDigitized version of The Brooklyn Daily Eagle, which was originally published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963.
Cambridge Journals OnlineOver 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market, containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
Congressional PublicationsDatabase of congressional publications and legislative histories. Also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full text provided by Hofstra will appear to those who have been authenticated through the Library's website.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index)Contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, indexing more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Iter Bibliography (Middle Ages and Renaissance)Includes secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Jstor is a digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals and other scholarly content. Hofstra subscribes to several JSTOR collections and single titles.
Certain primary source materials are being made temporarily available due to COVID-19 and will be removed by June 30, 2021.
New York Times currentProvided by LexisNexis, full text coverage is from June 01, 1980 through current. (Abstracts from January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980.) Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles.
New York Times HistoricalCoverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 4 years prior to the current year.
OneSearchSearches many of HUL's print and online resources (books, ebooks, journal articles, etc.) with one search.
PAIS IndexIncludes PAIS International & PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. In English and other languages. PAIS Archive includes monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. Content relates to public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate.
Project MuseFull-text of scholarly journals from over 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences.
Women and Social Movements InternationalA collection of primary sources that traces the global history of women’s international agendas and their influence on the course of events and shifts in attitudes that have come to define modern life.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Scholar`s EditionOrganized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection includes 105 document projects and archives and more than 53,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written altogether by about 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
