Skip to main content

HIST14 FA - From New Amsterdam to Levittown

What is Long Island?

Long Island (pronounced 'Lawng Guyland') is a 118 mile island that consists of four counties: Kings (Brooklyn), Queens, Nassua, and Suffolk.  Read more here at the Long Island Index - .

Podcast: History of Levittown

Innovation Hub Podcast from PRI - Levittown and the rise of the American suburb, aired 12/4/2017, by Marc Filippino.

Special Collections

Special Collections Reading Room
Phone (516) 463-6411

Research Assistance for: Communications, Education, Health Professions, Human Services


Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University