Skip to main content

His 102: World War I

Research Guide for History 102: Investigating History WWI

Identifying Sources in a Bibliography

What if you have only found one or two books on your topic?  If they are scholarly, chances are the authors will have cited the books and articles that they found and relied upon.  Check the reference lists (or bibliographies) contained in the book/article.  Use this handout to help you identify the type of source referred to.

 

If the source you wish to locate is a book, use the Library Catalog to locate.  If it is an article, use Journal Finder to locate.  And don't forget, if we do not have the item, use Interlibrary Loan to borrow from another institution.

Some definitions (types of articles)

Scholarly (or academic) journals Articles in these journals are authored by academics or others that have experience and credentials in the field.  The target audience is mainly academic.  The journals are usually published by professional associations or university presses.  Articles are research-based and provide extensive coverage of the topic.  Scholarly journal articles cite their sources using footnotes/endnotes and reference lists.  You can use these reference lists to locate additional resources on your topic!

Peer-reviewed articles or refereed articles have been reviewed carefully by other credentialed researchers who are knowlegable about the topic.

Popular articles appear in newspapers and magazines.  They are written for a general audience and the authors are usually not academics.  They do not usually have footnotes/endnotes or reference lists.

Take a look at the handout below--it may help you in distinguishing between the different types of articles.

Search for articles

Use OneSearch to search across many (not all!) of Hofstra databases in a single search.  Click here for a list of databases not included in OneSearch.  Click here for a brief tutorial on using OneSearch.  Note that OneSearch will also connect you to books, ebooks and other types of sources.  Each entry will have an icon indicating source type (academic article, newspaper, book, etc.)

HUL's OneSearch

Try the following databases to locate scholarly (or academic) journal articles.  Do you need peer-reviewed articles?  Many of the databases will allow you to limit your searching to peer-reviewed articles.  Click here to access the full list of Research Databases selected for History.

Try the following Research Databases to locate newspaper articles.  Click here to access the full list of newspaper databases.

Did you know you can set up your own library in Google Scholar?  Click here for instructions on setting it up--you will be able to save and organize your search results.

If the full text of the article you need is not available in the database you are currently searching, click on the link that appears in your results list.  This will take you to Journal Finder --an electronic list of journals that we subscribe to (click on the link below for direct access to Journal Finder).  Journal Finder will let you know if the full text of your article is available in another of Hofstra's databases.  You can also click on the following link for a brief tutorial on using Journal Finder.

If you require a book or journal article not available at Hofstra, you can use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request the material.  Click on the link below.  If you are a first-time user, you will be prompted to set up an account--it's easy and it's free--just remember to use your Hofstra network account.



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University