Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing Studies & Composition1: Prof. Montemurro: Articles

Use this guide to help you find the resources you need to do your WSC001 assignment.

Basic Library Information

Check the easy-to-use interactive  Library Basics Tutorial to find out what we have, where to find it, how to access it, and what services we offer you.

NEED HELP?

During the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, the library will provide online reference services. Access reference services as follows:

  • Use the popout chat window that appears on the Library's homepage during the hours that reference services are available.
  • At any time, you may type a question to be answered by a librarian.  Click on the  question graphic on the top righthand corner of the Library's homepage  
  • Make a personal one-on-one research appointment with a librarian.
  • Or use the buttons below to quickly type us a question or chat with a librarian

Locating the Full-Text or Articles with Journal Finder

Sometimes the full-text of an article you want is available within the database you are searching. Other times, however, it is not. If there is no full-text available within the database, it may still be available elsewhere through Hofstra, either electronically in another database or in print. In order to try to locate the full-text, use Journal Finder. You will see a Find Article link (Find Article) in each citation for which there is no full text available. Click on that link to open Journal Finder. 

For help using Journal Finder, check out these two resources:

1. Ways of Finding the Full Text of Articles Using Journal Finder.

2. Using Journal Finder and Find Article: A Tutorial.

 

Research Databases

Use the Research Databases, to find articles for this assignment. You pay for these databases with your Hofstra tuition, and you should take advantage of these resources. MOST OF THIS INFORMATION IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR FREE ON THE WEB. Your tuition dollars pay for them. Use them!

You can always limit the date range on all of these databases. That will help save you some time, since you need recent articles.

Magazines and Journals

Covers a wide variety of topics, and includes articles in magazines, academic journals and newspapers. Many of the Articles are full text.

Like Academic Search Complete,there are articles on a wide range of topics. It includes academic journals and newspapers (including full text access to the New York Times, dating back to 1995. Includes many full text articles.

Find information here on topics related to the fields of communication and mass media. Includes articles in magazines and  academic journals. Much of it is full text.

Newspapers

Mainly a business database that contains company and economic information, but it is also a good source for newspapers. It provides Hofstra's only electronic access to The Wall Street Journal.

Find the full text of various newspapers including the New York Times and the Washington Post.

A databases with a wide range of coverage, including legal and business information. Contains the full text of articles in many newspapers, including U.S. national, regional and local newspapers. Also a good source for international news.

Contact Information

Ann Grafstein, M.L.S, Ph.D.
Professor of Library Services
902H Axinn Library
516-463-5052

ann.grafstein@hofstra.edu

Contact me by phone or email. Click on the button below to arrange an appointment during a scheduled time slot.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University