= Apple App Store, 
= Google Play Store
| Name | Cost | Device Type | Description | Notes |
| AHA ACLS | Fee based ($2.99/year) | |
Access official AHA ACLS algorithms for help running codes. | |
| AnkiMobile | Fee-Based ($24.99) | |
Allows you to create flashcards and synchronize across multiple mobile and computer devices. | Called "AnkiDroid Flaschards" on Google Play Store. |
| BrowZine | Free | |
A customizable reading app. Allows you to browse, read, and keep track of your favorite journals. You can create a customized bookshelf of journals, browse table of contents as new issues are published, and access the full text of articles to which Northwell Health and the Zucker School of Medicine subscribes plus any open access articles. |
Full-text access is available for the School of Medicine/Northwell collection. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions. |
| Calculate (Medical Calculator) by QxMD | Free | |
A next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool for iPhone, iPad, Android and Windows, freely available to the medical community. | Registration is required when first accessing the app. |
| CanopySpeak | Free | |
The CanopySpeak offers a Clinical Mode to support routine communication where involving an interpreter may not be practical, and a Provider Learning Mode to help clinical and non-clinical staff advance towards becoming fluent in speaking the phrases that they frequently use. | |
| Clinical Key | Library Subscription | |
Access to books, evidence summaries, and journal content. | Northwell users only. View a video of how to get started using Clinical Key on the web and mobile. |
| Complete Anatomy by 3D4 Medical from Elsevier | 3 day free trial, then $39.99/year for student, or $99.99/year for professional. | |
A flexible, inclusive and personalized learning platform that uses the visual power of incredibly detailed 3D models to make anatomy easier to understand. | |
| docLogica | Free to download. Requires $0.99/month subscription to function. | |
A helpful tool for combining patient symptoms, signs, and test results to generate differentials, accuracy of diagnostic tests, and more |
|
| Doximity | Free | |
Allows for calling patients while showing your healthcare office on caller ID. | |
| DynaMed | Library Subscription | |
A mobile version of the DynaMed database. | Registration required. Hofstra users: written instructions here. Northwell users: video instructions here. |
| EBSCO Mobile | Library Subscription | |
A major indexing resource for academic literature. Use this app to get access to CINAHL. | Quickstart guide here. |
| EndNote | Free | |
Bibliographic tool to manage research materials. | EndNote account required. For basic information on EndNote, click here. |
| Epocrates |
Free |
|
A drug reference app. Delivers current safety, diagnostic, and treatment information. Epocrates (free) offers Drug Information, Interaction Check, Pill ID, Formulary, athenaText, and Tables. Epocrates Plus (fee-based) offers additional resources such as Clinical Practice Guidelines, Disease Information, Alternative Medicine, etc. | Epocrates Plus available for purchase. |
| Figure 1 | Free | |
Medical image sharing app. View, share, and discuss real-world medical cases in real-time. | Registration to Figure 1 required. |
| Google Drive | Free | |
Allows you to view, store, and share files. | Google account required. |
| Google Keep | Free | |
Simple notes and checklists. | Google account required. |
| Human Anatomy Atlas | Fee Based ($24.99) | |
Human Anatomy Atlas is a one-time purchase that gives you access to essential gross anatomy 3D models and select microanatomy models and animations on your iOS devices. | |
| IMAIOS DICOM Viewer | Free | |
App for viewing DICOM images on mobile devices. Many medical images are presented in the DICOM format. | |
| Just in Time Teaching (JiTT) | Free | |
The JiTT Infographics app is a novel teaching tool approach that delivers evidence-based clinically relevant teaching tips to trainees and clinical faculty in their environment and can be used alone or adapted for resident-as-teacher programs. Evidence-based educational content was developed by medical educators, clinician educators, and residents. Each JiTT tool is also downloadable as a PDF to explain foundational and specialty-specific clinical teaching tips during didactic sessions. | |
| Johns Hopkins ABX Guide | Fee-Based ($29.99) | |
App features up-to-date authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. | |
| Journal Club: Medicine |
Fee-based ($6.99) |
|
The Journal Club Team reviews the top articles in internal medicine, putting landmark articles at your fingertips. | |
| LexiDrug | Library Subscription | |
App provides access to current drug and disease information. | Hofstra users: written instructions here. Northwell users: View a video of how to get started using Lexidrug mobile. |
| Littmann™ Learning | Free | |
A learning tool designed to help improve the auscultation skills of students and practicing clinicians. | Premium available |
| MDCalc | Free | |
Reference app for clinical calculators. | |
| Medscape | Free | |
Medical news, expert commentary, clinical tools, drug and disease information, CME/CE activities. | Free Medscape account registration required. |
| Microsoft OneNote | Free | |
Allows you to create notes, capture images, manage lists, and share content with others. | Microsoft account required. |
| MyCME | Free | |
myCME provides certified/accredited education from a variety of pre-eminent institutions designed to meet the needs of physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, nurses, and other healthcare professionals. | |
| NEJM Image Challenge | Fee-Based ($9.99) | |
Image quiz app. Images pulled from the New England Journal of Medicine. | |
| OOG Health | Free | |
Accredited CE credits through self directed learning. Earn credit for watching videos, reading articles, researching medical topics, and engaging in peer discussions. | |
| PDF Gear | Free | |
Free PDF reader and annotator. | |
| PediSTAT | Fee-Based ($5.99) | |
Pedi-STAT is a rapid reference for RNs, paramedics, physicians and other healthcare professionals caring for pediatric patients in the emergency or critical care environment. | |
|
Prevention Taskforce (formerly ePSS) |
Free | |
An application designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Prevention Taskforce for Android Smartphone/Tablet is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors. |
|
| Prime: PubMed Journals & Tools | Free | |
App for searching PubMed and organizing results. Also includes features to trace citation networks and recommend articles based on past searches. | |
| PubMed on Tap |
Fee-based ($2.99) |
|
App that searches PubMed and PubMed Central to find, display, and import reference information. | |
| Todoist | Free | |
Task and project management. | |
| UpToDate | Library Subscription | |
A mobile version of the UpToDate database. | Hofstra users: written instructions here. Northwell users: View a video of how to get started using UpToDate mobile. |
| VisualDx | Library Subscription | |
Decision support and reference tool that includes over 1,300 diagnoses and over 29,000 medical images to aid diagnosis and therapeutic decisions. | Hofstra users: written instructions here. Northwell users: View a video of how to get started using VisualDx mobile |
| Voka Anatomy | Free | |
Catalog of medically accurate 3D models of human anatomy and pathologies, including rare diseases. | |
| Zotero | Free | |
Citation management tool. | Learn more about Zotero in our LibGuide here. |