LibGuides: SOM ACE Experience: Clinical

Clinical Apps

= iPhone, = iPad, = Android

Name	Cost	Device Type	Description	Notes
5MinuteConsult	Library Subscription		A mobile version of the 5MinuteConsult database.	Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.
AHRQ ePSS	Free		An application designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. The ePSS for Android Smartphone/Tablet is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.
Calculate (Medical Calculator) by QxMD	Free		A next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool for iPhone, iPad, Android and Windows, freely available to the medical community.	Registration is required when first accessing the app.
Canopy Medical Translator	Free		A free medical translation tool. Provides translations in 15 languages (and counting) and access to live medical interpreters.
Differential Diagnosis Creator	Free		A tool to create a differential diagnosis and check how various physical exam findings and diagnostic tests would effect a post-test probability.
docLogica	Free to download. Requires $0.99/month subscription to function.		A helpful tool for combining patient symptoms, signs, and test results to generate differentials, accuracy of diagnostic tests, and more
DocNomo	Free		A convenient graphical tool to enhance the bedside interpretation of a diagnostic test result.
DynaMed Mobile	Library Subscription		A mobile version of the DynaMed database.	Registration required
EBM Stats Calc	Free		A tool that allows a clinician to do calculations that are hard or impossible to do in one's head.
Epocrates	Free		A drug reference app. Delivers current safety, diagnostic, and treatment information. Epocrates (free) offers Drug Information, Interaction Check, Pill ID, Formulary, athenaText, and Tables. Epocrates Plus (fee-based) offers additional resources such as Clinical Practice Guidelines, Disease Information, Alternative Medicine, etc.	Epocrates Plus available for purchase.
Eponyms (for students)	Free		App provides short descriptions of more than 1700 common and obscure medical eponyms.	Called "Eponyms" in the Google Play Store.
First Consult	Library Subscription		A clinical decision support resource that leverages evidence-based medical information to provide easy access to the latest on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis and prevention. First Consult is part of ClinicalKey.	Registration for a personal ClinicalKey account is required.
Just in Time Teaching (JiTT)	Free		The JiTT Infographics app is a novel teaching tool approach that delivers evidence-based clinically relevant teaching tips to trainees and clinical faculty in their environment and can be used alone or adapted for resident-as-teacher programs. Each JiTT infographic tool provides open access content to support clinical teachers’ access to faculty development with an asynchronous digital experience strategy to engage busy teachers in a geographically distributed medical education network. Evidence-based educational content was developed by medical educators, clinician educators, and residents. Each JiTT tool is also downloadable as a PDF to explain foundational and specialty-specific clinical teaching tips during didactic sessions. JiTTs can be saved as “Favorites” category to ease finding a JiTT in the moment of need. Access though Google Play (Android) and Apple Store (IoS).
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide 2015	Fee-Based ($29.99)		App features up-to-date authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care.
Lexicomp	Library Subscription		App provides access to current drug and disease information.	Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.
Medibabble Translator	Free		A free medical translation app. Comes with English and Spanish as the primary languages. Can download Chinese-Cantonese, Chinese-Mandarin, French, German, Haitian Creole, and Russian for free.
Medscape	Free		App provides the most comprehensive set of tools to support clinicians with all of their professional needs, including decision-making support at the point-of-care, medical news and perspectives from thought leaders across medicine, engaging CME courses to support professional development, and much more	Free Medscape account registration required.
Micromedex	Library Subscription		App provides on-the-go access to the industry's most trusted drug information.	Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.
Summaries Needed to Teach (SNT)	Free		An on-the-spot prescreened compendium of bottom line article summaries with magnitude of results, confidence intervals, and critical appraisal. Intended for ambulatory medicine clinic preceptors.	Click here for download instructions.
UpToDate	Library Subscription		A mobile version of the UpToDate database.	Registration to an individual UpToDate account is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.