Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Reminder about Copyright
For more information on copyright, visit the Copyright Resources LibGuide.
For more information on how to cite images and videos, click on the Citing Images and Videos tab.
Portions of this LibGuide are re-posted with permission from Bev Saedlacek, Nebraska Methodist College, John Moritz Library.
Features 4500 full page plates and illustrations of human anatomy from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
Historical Anatomies on the Web
A digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection.
Images from the Clendening Library
Hundreds of images from medical and natural history texts, most of which were printed before 1800. Maintained by the University of Kansas Medical Center.
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
Illustrates the social and historical aspects of medicine (15th to 21st century) through portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
Index of Medieval Medical Images
Images from medieval manuscripts held in North American collections. Maintained by the University of California, Los Angeles.
John Martin Rare Book Room Images
Includes illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics. Maintained by the University of Iowa Libraries.
Medical Instruments and Artifacts
Images of a large collection of antique medical instruments and artifacts in the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library at Yale University.
Medicine and Madison Avenue
Health-related advertisements and historical documents dated between 1911 and 1958. Maintained by the Duke University Libraries.
Medicine in the Americas, 1619-1914: A Digital Library (National Library of Medicine)
Digital resource includes over 300 freely available early American printed books, showing the development of American medicine from 1610 to the early 20th century.
Patent Medicine Trade Cards Collection
A collection of small, colorfully illustrated advertising cards touting a particular medicine and its many cures. Maintained by the University of California, Los Angeles.
UCSF Japanese Woodblock Print Collection
The prints provide a window into traditional Japanese attitudes toward illness, the human body, women, religion, and the West. Maintained by the University of California, San Francisco.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University