It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can find articles in journals, magazines and newspapers through Hofstra'sResearch Databases, which can be accessed from theLibrary's homepage (you will be prompted to log in to Hofstra's portal in order to use them).
You will find direct links to the full text of many articles within some of the databases. But what if there is no link to the full text? How can you read the article? The purpose of this guide is to show you how you can often locate the full text of articles using Journal Finder.
Annual ReviewsComprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics.
Cabells DirectoriesAssists authors in publishing journal articles. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to journals' topic areas and lists acceptance rates. Also includes information on the style and format of most journals to further assist in organizing and preparing manuscripts.
Cambridge Journals OnlineOver 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market, containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
CINAHL Completeprovides full text for more than 1,300 journals in nursing & allied health, including many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane LibraryA collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Also includes a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full text provided by Hofstra will appear to those who have been authenticated through the Library's website.
Health and MedicineArticles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines,
newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference
works and hundreds of health-related videos and multimedia.
Health Source: Nursing/AcademicProvides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Health Source ConsumerProvides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Offers access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
JAMA NetworkIncludes the full text of Journal of the American Medical Association and other JAMA publications, as well as the specialty Archives Journals. All the journals publish Online First content.
MedlineProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
OneSearchSearches many of HUL's print and online resources (books, ebooks, journal articles, etc.) with one search.
Oxford Academic JournalsIncludes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. From the Oxford University Press.
PILOTSBibliographic database covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Incluldes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
PsycARTICLESContains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PsycINFOAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
PubMed/MedlineCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Pubmed CentralFull-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Sage Journals OnlineFull text of journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
ScienceDirectFull-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science.
Springer JournalsDatabase of journals in the areas of behavioral science, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & materials science, computer sciences, earth & environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics & statistics, clinical medicine, physics and astronomy. Includes full text.