Northwell/ZSOM: Wellness Guide: Nursing Wellness

• Fifth Window

  Nursing well-being tools by nurses, for nurses.
• RegisteredNursing.org's Guide to Self-Care

  The Ultimate Guide to Self-Care for Nurses from RegisteredNursing.org
• APNA Mental Health Support Guide for Nurses

  APNA Nurses Guide to Locating Mental Health Support and Services PDF
• The Well-Being Initiative

  Website for the Well-Being Initiative set in motion by The American Nurses Foundation during the COVID -19 pandemic specifically for nurses.
• National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health: Health Topics A to Z

  Evidence based one page fact sheets on therapies and supplements. Explore aromatherapy, acupuncture, reiki and more!
• 

  See You Now: Focus on Mental Health

  4 free CNE credits. Learn to identify the signs and symptoms of mental stress and burnout. Listen to and reflect on this set of SEE YOU NOW podcasts to learn how nurses like you are innovating and tackling mental health issues head on.
• 

  Shift Talk Podcast

  This podcast is dedicated to connecting nurses so they can share their experiences and figure out how to face challenges together. SHIFT Talk also provides a database of nursing articles. Articles include discounts, freebies, and specials for nurses.
• 

  Nursing Uncensored Podcast

  Nursing Uncensored provides educational information through humor and storytelling. This podcast is geared toward nurses, students, and health allies looking for education and entertainment. Nursing Uncensored focuses on what real-life nursing is all about, including tragedies, triumphs, and "lots of dark humor." While some content is not suitable for work, any explicit audio is identified.

• Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by Dorrie Fontaine; Tim Cunningham; Natalie May

  ISBN: 9781948057813

  Publication Date: 2021-04-01

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  There are countless books, articles, and podcasts on these topics, and many of them are essential resources for anyone seeking solid footing in the world today. Self-care remains an imperative for nurses and other healthcare professionals as burnout, high attrition rates, emotional fatigue, and moral distress loom large over us, especially in the age of COVID-19. The people who so compassionately care for others are in dire need of care themselves.
• Dossey and Keegan's Holistic Nursing: a Handbook for Practice by Mary A. Blaszko Helming; Deborah A. Shields; Karen M. Avino; William E. Rosa

  ISBN: 9781284196528

  Publication Date: 2020-12-07

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  Dossey & Keegan's Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Eighth Edition covers basic and advanced concepts of holism, demonstrating how holistic nursing spans all specialties and levels. This text is distinguished by its emphasis on theory, research, and evidence-based practice essential to holistic nursing.
• Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing by Vidette Todaro-Franceschi

  ISBN: 9780826109774

  Publication Date: 2012-09-01

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  Compassion fatigue afflicts nurses working in all caring environments and has become a serious issue in health care institutions nationwide. This is the only book to specifically address this challenge and the related syndrome of burnout in nursing. It presents a unique healing model designed to identify, treat and, where possible, avert compassion fatigue with holistic strategies and action plans that help cultivate a healthier, more satisfying work environment.
• Self-Care Science, Nursing Theory and Evidence-Based Practice by Susan G. Taylor; Katherine Renpenning

  ISBN: 9780826107787

  Publication Date: 2011-05-20

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  Dorothea Orem's Self-Care Theory has been used as a foundation for nursing practice in healthcare institutions and as the basis of curricula in nursing schools for decades. This book explores the high-level theory of the application of Orem's Self-Care Theory, and how it can improve patient outcomes as well as cost-effectiveness of nursing care delivery.
• Health and Wellbeing at Work for Nurses and Midwives by Holly Blake (Editor); Gemma Stacey (Editor)

  ISBN: 9780323880534

  Publication Date: 2023-03-14

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  This book emphasises the importance supporting the wellbeing of self and others, even during times of extreme stress such during winter or when dealing with COVID-19. It covers multiple aspects of self-care, including how to tackle shift work, prevent dehydration and cope with moral injury and guilt - all illustrated with real-life case studies from nurses and midwives working at the coalface.
• Music Therapy Education and Training by Karen D. Goodman

  ISBN: 9780398086091

  Publication Date: 2011-01-01

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  Written by a Senior Clinician and Educator in Order to Meet the Needs of Prospective and Current Educators, Clinical Supervisors and Students of Music Therapy, This Book Provides an Overview and Detailed Commentary About All Aspects of Undergraduate and Graduate Education and Training in Music Therapy.
• Mental Health and Wellbeing: A Guide for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals Working with Adults in Primary Care by Duncan, Deborah

  ISBN: 9781910451649

  Publication Date: M&K Update Ltd., 2021

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  Written by a registered general and mental nurse with 20 years' clinical experience in primary care, this helpful, practical book serves as a manual to accompany the CWT training and as a learning resource in its own right.
• Spiritual Dimensions of Nursing Practice by Verna Benner Carson (Editor); Harold G. Koenig (Editor)

  ISBN: 9781599471457

  Publication Date: 2008-10-01

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  This revised edition builds on the foundations laid in the first, providing perspectives on new research in the spiritual dimensions of nursing care, applying nursing theory to spiritual care, and addressing the spiritual needs of both nurses and patients. It also examines ethical issues in nursing and the impact of legal decisions on health care issues.
• Spiritual Dimensions of Advanced Practice Nursing by Melanie Rogers (Editor)

  ISBN: 9783030714635

  Publication Date: 2021-10-16

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  This book recognises the challenges associated with the concept of spirituality. An awareness of this concept is integral to the provision of person-centred holistic care. However, APNs ability to provide spiritual care is often impeded by time pressures and the prioritisation of clinical tasks.
• Trauma Stewardship by Connie Burk; Laura van Dernoot Lipsky

  ISBN: 9781576759448

  Publication Date: 2009-05-04

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  This beloved bestseller-over 180,000 copies sold-has helped caregivers worldwide keep themselves emotionally, psychologically, spiritually, and physically healthy in the face of the sometimes overwhelming traumas they confront every day. A longtime trauma worker, Laura van Dernoot Lipsky offers a deep and empathetic survey of the often-unrecognized toll taken on those working to make the world a better place.
• Caring for Caregivers to Be by Jonathan Ripp (Editor); Larissa R. Thomas (Editor); Dennis S. Charney (Foreword by)

  ISBN: 9780197658185

  Publication Date: 2023-05-30

  Northwell Access
  Hofstra Access
  Caring for Caregivers to Be provides evidence-based insights and solutions to reduce burnout and improve well-being among medical learners, particularly students and graduate medical trainees. It provides a scoping review of the research related to the well-being of the health care learner and offers a suite of current and emerging tools and strategies believed to reduce medical burnout and foster resilience.