LibGuides: The Barack Obama Presidency--Selected Resources: Hofstra Databases

Legislative summaries of the Obama Administration

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window Database of congressional publications and legislative histories. Also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.

The Congressional Publications database ovides access to a wealth of legislative materials. In addition, the section Congress in Context includes "specially created historical profiles to discover more about the setting, personnel and events which may have influenced the legislation created during a particular Congressional period". Click on the link above and scroll down to Congress in Context to see each Congressional period of the Obama administration. A brief overview of each session is provided as well as key legislation passed during that session.

CQ Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of Congressional action starting from 1945 and updated with new content every 4 years (each presidential election year).

Congress and the Nation offers comprehensive coverage of each presidential administration. For the Obama administrations, please scroll to Vol. XIII and XIV.

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window Building on the reporting and analysis done throughout the year by CQ's news staff, the Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session since 1946, with new content published every 2 years (per congressional session).

"Since it was first published in 1946, CQ Almanac has been the definitive annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress. Building on the reporting and analysis done throughout the year by CQ's award-winning news staff, the Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session." Congressional sessions during the 111th through 114th are accessible.

Please note: HU network account is required to access the databases listed above.