This guide was created at Marist College. Please note that some of the resources may not be accessible to non-Marist students. However, many of the links are from freely available websites so you may find this guide helpful.
Scholarly (or academic) journals Articles in these journals are authored by academics or others that have experience and credentials in the field. The target audience is mainly academic. The journals are usually published by professional associations or university presses. Articles are research-based and provide extensive coverage of the topic. Scholarly journal articles cite their sources using footnotes/endnotes and reference lists. You can use these reference lists to locate additional resources on your topic!
Peer-reviewed articles or refereed articles have been reviewed carefully by other credentialed researchers who are knowlegable about the topic.
Popular articles appear in newspapers and magazines. They are written for a general audience and the authors are usually not academics. They do not usually have footnotes/endnotes or reference lists.
Take a look at the link below--it may help you in distinguishing between the different types of articles.
Use WorldCat DISCOVERY to search across all of Hofstra University Library holdings and open access resources for print and electronic books, journal articles, videos, etc. You can limit your search to artilces by clicking on the ARTICLES tab. See the DISCOVERY page (left side of screen in navigation tabs) for more information and tip sheets.
Try the following databases to locate scholarly (academic) journal articles. Do you want peer-reviewed articles? Many of the databases will allow you to limit your searching to peer-reviewed articles. Click here to access the full list of Databases selected for History.
Try the following Databases to locate newspaper and magazine articles. Click here to access the full list of newspaper databases.
*FACTIVA HELP--get help with your searches by clicking on the EXAMPLES link to the left of the search box. To search using field tags (headline, byline, etc.) scroll to the NOTES section at end of EXAMPLES page and click on the link in the third bullet point. Make sure to use the DATE filter.
**NEXIS UNI HELP--Click on the HELP link at the top right of the Nexis Uni homepage or the Question Mark on the bottom left of the screen.
Become an expert searcher!! Check out the following handouts for advanced search strategies.
Did you know you can set up your own library in Google Scholar? Click here for instructions on setting it up--you will be able to save and organize your search results.
If the full text of the article you need is not available in the database you are currently searching, click on the or Find A Copy link that appears in your results list. This will take you to the database/s that contains the full text of the article you need. If we do not have access to the full text here at Hofstra you can use our Interlibrary Loan system (see the information contained under the next tab).
Use the JOURNALS tab to see if the Hofstra Library subscribes to specific newspapers, magazines or journals (e.g. New York Times, American Historical Review, etc.) or click on the Advanced Journal/Article search link to see if we have the full text of a specific article. You can also browse our list of journals.
If you require a book or journal article not available at Hofstra, you can use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request the material. Click on the link below. If you are a first-time user, you will be prompted to set up an account--it's easy and it's free--just remember to use your Hofstra network account.
Are you confused about where to go for what????? Hopefully, this will help!
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports: CRS is a service of the Library of Congress whose purpose is to provide Congress with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on public policy issues. CRS researchers are scholars in their particular fields of expertise usually holding advanced degrees. CRS Reports are available as follows (the websites vary in dates and subjects covered):
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University