LibGuides: HIST 116/AFST 116 Black Health, Trauma and Resistance: Specialized Sources

Historical African American Newspapers Online (courtesy of Marist College)

HIstorical African American Newspapers Available Online (Marist)

This guide was created at Marist College. Please note that some of the resources may not be accessible to non-Marist students. However, many of the links are from freely available websites so you may find this guide helpful.

HeinOnline Civil Rights and Social Justice

Civil Rights and Social Justice

"Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans."

Independent Voices (Open Access Resource)

Independent Voices
The flood-like appearance of an alternative press in the late 1960s expressed the upsurge of dissent and of aspiration of American youth. Feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, and members of the LGBT communities all began to publish newspapers and periodicals. The Collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries. When completed, Independent Voices will represent the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of over 1,000 titles and 750,000 pages.

Black Freedom Struggle from ProQuest

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window

Documents Relating to Tuskegee Syphilis Study

Final Report of the Tuskegee Syphilis Study
Quality of health care--human experimentation, 1973: hearings,
see note...close notes
If this link does not lead directly to the document, you can do a title search.
Quality of Health Care-Human Experimentation, 1973, Part 4. Hearings
see note...close notes
If this link does not lead directly to the document, you can do a title search.
Tuskegee Study (Various Records held at the National Archives)

Please note: Numerous articles have been published relating to the Tuskegee Study. A particular series entitles "Untreated Syphilis in the Male Negro" may be helpful--these are articles published in the 1950s by the Venereal Disease Program of the U.S. Public Health Service. Locate these particular articles by doing a title search in the database PUBMED/MEDLINE (not all articles will be available in full text, in those cases, use our Interlibrary Loan service.

And try Discovery, America: History and Life, and ProQuest databases for other secondary articles.

Black Life in America

Black Life in America This link opens in a new window

"Black Life in America: The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today
From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound
impact on American history. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into
centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant
culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent."

Click on the link below for the full guide to this database.

Guide to Black Life in America