Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 20/AFST 115 African American History 1619-1865

HeinOnline: SLAVERY IN AMERICA AND THE WORLD: HISTORY, CULTURE AND LAW

The HeinOnline resources includes the database  SLAVERY IN AMERICA AND THE WORLD:  HISTORY, CULTURE AND LAW.  Click on the link above to get to HeinOnline--SLAVERY IN AMERICA is listed under "Browse Databases by Name."  

From HeinOnline "This ... collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.....Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the magnificent holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery."

Please note:  You will find the special report, The Tragedy of Lynching by Arthur Drape (1933) in the HeinOnline database. (It is contained in Hein's Legal Classics Library)

Black Freedom Struggle (ProQuest)

Accessible Archives

"This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with firsthand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African American experience."

Click here for a description of the some of the newspapers contained in the database. 

 

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

This collection includes "digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and reconstruction." Articles from the Freedmen's Journal appear in Series 4 of the database.  Articles from the New York Globe appear in Series 5 of the database.

independent Voices

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University