Skip to main content

Database Specific Interactive & Video Tutorials: Home

Note: Interactive Tutorials may encounter display problems with Internet Explorer.  Please use Firefox or Chrome for viewing.

(see also Subject Research Guides for help finding the best resources for a particular field of study )
ATLA Religion Database interactive tutorial:
This is a brief guide to searching the ATLA Religion Database. It is a major subscription database for articles in religion. However, for additional articles in Jewish Studies you may also wish to search RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies.
How to Create an Ebsco Account interactive tutorial:
HUL subscribes to many Ebsco databases. This tutorial teaches you how to create an account in any Ebsco database for use across all Ebsco databases, and what you can do with it.
JSTOR Youtube videos:
Jstor is a digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals and other scholarly content. Includes how to use basic and advanced search options, as well as the browse and citation locator feature.
Philosopher's Index interactive tutorial:
This is a brief guide to searching the database Philosopher's Index. It is the premier subscription database for articles in all areas of philosophy.
Proquest Youtube videos:
Proquest databases cover a wide range of disciplines.  Tutorials in the playlist include basic search, advanced search, and more. 
Sociological Abstracts interactive tutorial:
Sociological Abstracts indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference presentations in Sociology and related fields.This tutorial teaches basic search techniques and strategies for managing your results.

Need more help?

Search FAQs or Submit a Question

Call, Text, or Tweet

 5164635962

  5166286473

 @HULAnswers



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University