Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 014S Bones, Bodies, and Burials : Finding Books and Articles

When to use OneSearch to find books and articles

OneSearch allows you to search most databases and the catalog, and there are instructions below on how to search all Proquest databases simultaneously as well. However, because of the algorithms employed you will not always get the most useful results when searching in this federated fashion. In the next tab “Resources Specific to the Course” are a list of databases which you might want to search individually. In many cases their content is picked up in the federated searches here but are not displayed at the top of the results page. Sometimes they are many pages down. If you are not getting what you want here consider moving on to searching individual databases.

OneSearch is a tool that allows you to search all of the library collections at the same time.  When you search with OneSearch, you are searching:

  • books in the reference and circulating collections we have in print and electronic form
  • journals for articles available in full-text and by citation only

OneSearch is a powerful tool that will deliver a large amount of information from varied sources.

In order to limit you results to ebooks click on the link to ebooks under Resource Types. If ebooks does not appear as an option, click on "Show more" to make it appear.

You may limit you search to peer reviewed articles by clicking on the Peer Reviewed Journals box under Limit To.

I strongly recommend doing a second search in the Searching the Catalog box. Different results may float to the top and you may locate books and media that are not prominently displayed in OneSearch. Ebooks will appear among the other items.

ProQuest databases which hold most of the sociology and criminology articles cannot be searched with OneSearch. Once you have gotten results in OneSearch a link will appear on the left which directs you to Proquest databases. These tend to be emphasize the social sciences. Once in Proquest you can modify the search to peer reviewed articles and to e-books. Proquest ebooks are most easily accessed via the library catalog.

OneSearch

HUL's OneSearch

Books in Lexicat

Chat with a Librarian



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University