Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journal Finder: How to Find the Full Text of Articles in Periodicals: Home

This guide shows you how to locate the full text of an article when it is not available in the database you are searching.

Related Guides

Hofstra's Research Databases and Journal Finder

 

 

You can find articles in journals, magazines and newspapers through Hofstra's Research Databases, which can be accessed from the Library's homepage (you will be prompted to log in to Hofstra's portal in order to use them).

You will find direct links to the full text of many articles within some of the databases. But what if there is no link to the full text? How can you read the article? The purpose of this guide is to show you how you can often locate the full text of articles using Journal Finder.

 

Locating the Full Text of Articles

How to Find the Full Text of Articles Using Journal Finder

There are two ways to access Journal Finder. The first way is to access it from within a database using the "Find Article" link, and the second is to open Journal Finder directly from the Library's homepage and search for the title of a particular journal you wish to locate:

 

Axinn Library's Periodicals Room

Basic Library Information

Check the easy-to-use interactive  Library Basics Tutorial to find out what we have, where to find it, how to access it, and what services we offer you.

NEED HELP?

During the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, the library will provide online reference services. Access reference services as follows:

  • Use the popout chat window that appears on the Library's homepage during the hours that reference services are available.
  • At any time, you may type a question to be answered by a librarian.  Click on the  question graphic on the top righthand corner of the Library's homepage  
  • Make a personal one-on-one research appointment with a librarian.
  • Or use the buttons below to quickly type us a question or chat with a librarian
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University