Skip to main content

HIST14 FA - From New Amsterdam to Levittown

Special Collections

Special Collections Reading Room
Phone (516) 463-6411

See 11 Centuries-Old Remnants of New Amsterdam in NYC

Enjoy this article from Curbed: https://bit.ly/2D8Jg6L

This article lists historical places and influences that elucidate the Dutch impact on New York.  Pieces featured were chosen in each of the 5 counties that together constitute the Five Boroughs: Kings (Brooklyn), Queens, The Bronx, Manhattan, and Richmond counties. 

Primary Sources

New Netherlands Institute - https://www.newnetherlandinstitute.org/history-and-heritage/digital-exhibitions/a-tour-of-new-netherland/

"For more than three decades, the New Netherland Institute (NNI) has helped cast light on America’s long-neglected Dutch roots. Created in 1986 as the Friends of the New Netherland Project, it has supported the transcription, translation, and publication of the 17th-century Dutch colonial records held by the New York State Library and State Archives. These records constitute the world’s largest collection of original documentation of the Dutch West India Company and its New World Colonies."

Novi Belgii Novaeque Angliae - Map by N.J. Visscher 1650/51 based on a manuscript map compiled by Adriaen van der Donck in 1648. This is the second state (1652) which added Fort Kasimier.  For more on this and similar maps see The Maps of Bert Twaalfhoven on this site.


New Netherlands Institute - Focus on Lange Eylandt - https://www.newnetherlandinstitute.org/history-and-heritage/digital-exhibitions/a-tour-of-new-netherland/long-island/


New Netherlands Institute - Focus on Hofstra - https://www.newnetherlandinstitute.org/history-and-heritage/dutch_americans/william-f-hostra/

Courtesy of Hofstra Library University Archives


New Netherland Research Centerhttp://www.nysl.nysed.gov/newnetherland/what.htm 
"The New Netherland Research Center is a partnership between the New York State Office of Cultural Education and the New Netherland Institute.  Housed in the New York State Library, the Center supports research on the seventeenth century Dutch province of New Netherland, which was centered on New York‟s Hudson Valley and extended from Connecticut to Delaware…[I]t continues the work of the New Netherland Project, which since 1974 has translated Dutch era documents held by the New York State Library and the New York State Archives.  Visit the New Netherland Research Center online at www.nysl.nysed.gov/newnetherland/ ."


Digital Collections - Library of Congress - https://www.loc.gov/collections/
 




This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University