Skip to main content

PSC001: What’s Fair in the United States?: Home

Electronic Reference Databases

You must log into the my.hofstra.edu portal and access the Library home page in order to use these databases.

  • Credo Reference - Multidisciplinary. Full text entries from over 500 reference sources. (Use this database to access current volumes of Marquis Who's Who.)
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Searchable by keyword and subject.  Full text. Includes graphics. 
  • LEXICAT - Online catalog of Hofstra University Libraries holdings.  Includes electronic reference books.  Restrict your search to the Reference collection on each search screen.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Thank you!!!

I want to thank Prof. Georgina Martorella for all of her support and direction.  Virtually all the wonderful resources that appear here she created and allowed me to borrow.

Sources for Research Reports

Find Newspaper, Magazine Articles

Try the following Research Databases to locate newspaper and magazine articles.

Citation Guides

   Guides to Research 

The Craft of Research.  Axinn Stacks  Q180.55 .M4 B66  2008

Student Guide to Research in the Digital Age:  How to Locate and Evaluate Information Sources.  Axinn Stacks  ZA3075 .S74  2006

    Citation Guides

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Axinn Ref Desk LB2369 .G53  2009 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Axinn Ref Desk  BF76.7 .P83  2010

Chicago Manual of Style.  Axinn Ref. Desk  Z253 .U69  2003

Style Guide/American Sociological Association.  Axinn Ref. Desk  HM571 .A54  2007

Cite Right:  A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more.  Axinn Ref Desk PN171 .F56 L55 2006

      Online Resources

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Bibliographic Citations--Modern Language Association (MLA) Format

Purdue Online Writing Lab

  



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University