AI for Academic Success: Tools, Ethics, and Best Practices
AI in EBSCO Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Includes over 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines
To search the EBSCO databases using AI, click on Search Options and select Natural language search.
AI in JSTOR
-
JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. In addition, more than 3 million of the images in Artstor are now discoverable alongside JSTOR’s vast scholarly content, providing you with primary sources and vital critical and historical background on one platform.
To use AI in JSTOR, you must create a free JSTOR account.
On the Advanced Search screen, click on Register to create an account. Create your account using an email account you are comfortable with.If you have an account, click on Log in.
When you log in, you will see the Beta AI Research Assistant is turned on. You can turn it off anytime.
AI in Science Direct
-
ScienceDirect Full-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science.
To use the AI feature in Science Direct, you must create a free account. Click on the silhouette on the top right. Follow the steps to create your account.
Log into your account and execute a search. Once you click on the title of an article and enter the article view, you will see the Reading Assistant option present itself. You can ask for summaries of experiments as well as other features of the article. On the right, you will see articles on similar topics suggested by the database. You are limited to using Reading Assistant with 5 articles per month with a free account.
AI in Oxford Academic Journals
-
Oxford Academic Journals Includes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. From the Oxford University Press.
To access the AI Discovery Assistant in Oxford Academic Journals, you must create an account. Click on the silhouette on the upper right. A menu will drop down. Under Personal account, click on Register and create an account. Log in to search with the AI Discovery Assistant.
AI in Statista
-
Statista Multifaceted statistics portal containing statistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources of data from businesses, government departments, market research concerns or associations.
You can access Statista's Research AI option directly when you enter the database.
LIBRARY ACCESS TO THE DATABASES
Always go through the Hofstra Library website to access the research databases. This assures you will be logged into the subscription-level access of the database.
-
A-Z List of Hofstra DatabasesFind a database by its name in the alphabetical list.
-
Databases Organized by SubjectLocate databases relevant to your research by subject area.