This is the "Other eBook Collections" page of the "eBooks: Finding & Downloading" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Hofstra University Library

eBooks: Finding & Downloading  

Instructions for retrieving and downloading ebooks from the library resources available to Hofstra students and faculty.
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.hofstra.edu/download_ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Other eBook Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Other eBook Collections

HUL subscribes to other eBook Collections on various platforms.

You can find a list of these collections on the Library's eBooks webpage, in the section labeled "HUL's Choice Collections

You can also, as always, search for available eBooks by title in the Library Catalog, or by using OneSearch.

 

(Note: There are also eBooks available from our eReference webpage , but these are purely reference books like encyclopedias, etc., and are generally not conducive to downloading.)

      
     

    Adobe Reader

    If you do not have Adobe Reader installed, you can download it here.

     

    Other eBook Collections: Download Options

    APA eBooks, ICE Virtual Library and Springer Engineering eBooks

    For any of these eBook collections, you can save PDF versions of individual chapters.  This can be done a couple of different ways:

    • From within the chapter view, right-click the PDF (or "Download PDF")  link and click "save as" or "save link as" (the exact wording varies and is browser dependent). 
      --OR--
    • Left-click to open in browser window, then click on the download or save button that appears within the sub-window (the button that appears will vary per browser, but just look for it and you’ll see it).

    OECD Economic Surveys

    Surveys in this collection can either be downloaded in their entirety or by chapters.  The download process is the same as the above collections, except you can use the PDF link either from the issue list or click into the survey title and download the PDFs of individual chapters.

    Richard K. Miller Business Handbooks

    This actually works similarly to APA and Springer, except that you can download a whole book.  Also, and very importantly, when you save the book, it saves as a .cfm file. 

    If you’re computer doesn’t know how to open this type of file when you double-click it, it can be opened with Adobe Reader.  You can successfully open it in one of three ways:

    • Select Adobe Reader when your computer prompts you to select a program to use to open the file.
    • Open adobe reader first and then open the cfm file from within it. 
    • Alternatively, you can simply rename the file by replacing the “cfm” with “pdf” and then double-click for it to automatically open in Adobe Reader.

     

    Business Expert Press (on ebrary)

    eBooks in this collection can be downloaded either as individual chapter PDF files or the entire book can be checked out for a limited time period, and downloaded to a desktop, notebook, or mobile device. For detailed instructions, see:  http://support.ebrary.com/kb/download-overview/  
    *Note that the checkout/download option uses Adobe Digital Editions, which is not compatible with Kindle devices. 

     

    This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
    HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip