This is the "Home" page of the "Library Research - Prof. Migliaccio, Writing Studies and Composition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Hofstra University Library

Library Research - Prof. Migliaccio, Writing Studies and Composition  

This subject guide is intended to suggest resources that can best help you do your assignment on the Family in America.
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hofstra.edu/migliaccio Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a one-stop search engine for scholarly, academic articles. It is a good way to locate articles that you may find useful. Keep in mind, however, that you will not always be able to get access to the full text.



LibAnswers

Use this resource to find answers to your questions. You may either ask us a question or find answers to your question that someone else may already have asked

Books

Where to Find Books on Your Topic

  • Lexicat  
      
    Hofstra's online catalog. Use this to find the books, films and CDs that the library owns. Also use to access electronic books.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
    A free service that borrows books that Hofstra does not own from other libraries. In order to use ILL, you must open an account. Use the link provided or access it from the library's homepage.

Articles

Research Databases

Access the Research Databses from the library's homepage. You must log in using the same username and password you use to tet into myhofstra. Almost all of the Research Databases can be accessed from off campus.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Contains articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular (non-scholarly). Many of the article citations include full text.
  • Academic OneFile  
      
    Similar to Academic Search Premier. Includes both scholarly and non-scholarly sources from a wide variety of disciplines. Much of it is full text.
  • ERIC  
      
    A good source for articles in Education and related disciplines. Includes both scholarly and non-scholarly material. Some full text.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Includes citations to book and dissertations, as well as to articles in sociology and other social sciences. Both scholarly and non-scholarly. Contains some full text.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Includes citations to books and dissertations, as well as articles in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Both scholarly and non-scholarly. Contains some links to full text.
  • Journal Finder
    When the full text of the article you want is not available, use Journal Finder to help you see if the full text is available either in another database or in print at Hofstra.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
    Sometimes you will need an article that is not available at Hofstra. Use ILL to obtain those articles from another library. You will receive a copy of the article and you will not have to return it.
 

Contact Information

Ann Grafstein, MLIS, Ph.D
Associate Professor and Subject Specialist for English and Writing Studies & Composition
Axinn Library
Room 902H
516-463-5052
ann.grafstein@hofstra.edu

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip