Skip to main content

Journal Finder FAQ

How do I use Journal Finder to locate full text from within an online database?

Clicking the button (or "Find Article" link) within a database produces the Journal Finder results page with direct links to one or more of the following:

  • Full text of the article

  • Table of contents or list of journal issues by year, which link to the full text of the article

  • Database home page, which must be searched to retrieve the full text

  • Library catalog (Lexicat)

  • Various Custom links such as ILLiad (interlibrary loan request)

Sometimes there are many options for full text and journal links. Why?

The same journal is often times available in more than one database.  Journal Finder will display the links to all content accessible to the library.

How do I get to the article when the link only takes me to the database or journal table of contents?

In cases where Journal Finder can only take you to the journal's table of contents or a database home page, you will have to browse the table of contents to locate the issue and article you need, or search the database the retrieve the full text article. You can do a very targeted quick search by author and title.

Journal Finder provides an article-level link even though the full text of the article is not available. Why?

This can occur for several reasons:

  • Full text articles are withheld from the online versions of the database by the publisher or author.

  • Metadata appears in a database before the publisher has made the full text available.

  • Changes to the coverage dates or full text content of a particular database have not been conveyed to the link resolver provider yet. 

Additonal Questions

If you have additional questions about Journal Finder, check here to search for answers or to submit a question.  You may also contact the Reference Desk at 516.463.5962.


This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University