Skip to main content

eBooks: Finding & Downloading: Elsevier (ScienceDirect) eBooks

Instructions for retrieving and downloading ebooks from the library resources available to Hofstra students and faculty.

Finding Elsevier eBooks

HUL subscribes to many Elsevier eBooks, viewable in the ScienceDirect database. 

You can search for available eBooks by title in the Library Catalog, by using OneSearch, or by going directly to ScienceDirect

Keyword searches in ScienceDirect will bring up relevant eBook chapters in the result list. 

Alternatively, you can browse the list of available full text eBooks.

How to Download Elsevier eBooks from ScienceDirect

For Desktop/Notebook computers:

  • If you have an Adobe reader installed, you can download a book/chapter by simply clicking on the PDF icon/link that appears below the title/author information in the search results view.
     
  • If you want to download multiple pdfs from the search results view, you can check the boxes next to the titles you want and use the "Download PDFs" button instead. 

  • Alternatively, if you click into a title to read the full text first, you can then download the PDF using the "Download PDF" button found at the top of the full text reading page:


 

How to Download Elsevier eBooks from ScienceDirect

For Mobile Devices/eReaders:

You can save individual chapters in ePUB or Mobipocket, formats widely used by electronic readers and mobile devices.


To do so, you must first click into the title to open its full text display in ScienceDirect. Then, click on the "Export" drop-down menu and select your eReader format from the menu (at the bottom, under "Export Full-text").


 

*Note: ScienceDirect provides full-text for all content, but in some cases no HTML version is available and the full-text document must be downloaded as a PDF file. These PDF-only items are not available in Mobi or ePub format. For more information, click here.

 

 



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University