LibGuides: Women's Studies: Print Reference Sources

Reference Print Sources

Reference books are excellent places to begin your research as they can provide a useful overview of your topic. They are found in the Reference Room located on the first floor, adjacent to the Reference Desk. They are organized by Library of Congress subject headings. These books cannot be checked out, but you may photocopy or scan articles in our Periodicals Dept on the Ground Floor.

Refeence Books

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

GENERAL

Dictionary of sexist quotations

Ref. HQ1075 .D52 1984

Girl culture: an encyclopedia

Ref. HQ798 .G523 2008

The Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide

Ref. HQ1115.G74 2003 vol. 1-6

Historical dictionary of feminism

Ref. HQ1115.B65 2004

International encyclopedia of women's suffrage

Ref. JF851. H23 2000

Routledge international encyclopedia of women: global women's issues and knowledge

Ref. HQ1115.R69 2000

The Women's movement today: an encyclopedia of third-wave feminism

Ref. HQ1115.W644 2006

Women's Studies Encyclopedia

Ref. HQ1115 .W645 1998

HISTORY

Enslaved women in America: an encyclopedia

Ref. E443 .E57 2012

Biographical dictionary of ancient Greek and Woman women

Ref. HQ1136 .L54 2000

Black Women in America: an historical encyclopedia

Ref. E185.5 .B542 2004 vol.1-2

Encyclopedia of women in history

Ref. HQ1410 .E83 2002 3 vol.1-3

Encyclopedia of women in the Middle Ages

Ref. HQ1143 .I38 2001

Encyclopedia of women in the ancient world

Ref. HQ1127 .S25 2001

Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa

Ref.HQ1787. S44 2005

Jewish women in America: an historical encyclopedia

Ref.DS115.2 .J49 1997 vol.1-2

RELIGION AND CULTURE

Encyclopedia of American women and religion

Ref. BL2525 .B45 1998

Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America

Ref. BL458 .E52 2006 vol.1-3

Encyclopedia of women and the Islamic culture

Ref. HQ1170 .E53 2003 vol. 1-6

GENDER

50 years of Queer Cinema: 500 of the best gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, and queer questioning films ever made

Ref.PN1995.9.H55 P57 2010

Completely queer: the gay and lesbian encyclopedia

Ref.HQ75 .H63 1998

Encyclopedia of women and gender: sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender

Ref. HQ1115 .E43 2001 vol.1-2

Historical dictionary of lesbian literature

Ref. PN491.3 .M55 2006

Lesbian histories and cultures: an encyclopedia

Ref. HQ75.5 .L4395 2000

Reader's guide to lesbian and gay studies.

Ref.HQ75.15. R43 2000

LITERATURE/ART/MUSIC

Contemporary American women poets: an A-to-Z Guide

Ref. PS151 .C665 2002

Contemporary women artists

Ref.N8354 .C66 1999

The feminist encyclopedia of French literature

Ref. PQ149 .F47 1999

The feminist encyclopedia of Spanish literature

Ref.PQ6055 .F46 2002 vol.1-2

Great Women Masters of Art

Ref.ND38 .V54 2003

International encyclopedia of women composers

Ref. ML82 .W625 2002

Irish women writers: an A to Z guide

Ref. PR8733 .I 75 2006

SCIENCE

International women in science: a biographical dictionary to 1950.

Ref.Q141 .H2167 2001

Women in medicine: an encyclopedia

Ref.R692 .W545 2002