LibGuides: Women's Studies: Find Articles

Axinn Library Subject Databases

The Axinn Library provides over two hundred online databases containing citations and often full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. These databases are listed alphabetically and by subject under Browse our full list of Databases on the Library home page. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Women’s Studies, many of our databases could be appropriate for conducting your research. Below is a selected group.

AnthroSource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), This full-text database brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, indexing more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index)
Offers in-depth coverage of Latin America and related issues with coverage spanning more than twenty-five years, from 1970 to the present. Now containing more than 210,000 citations.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database of full-text scholarly articles from a collection of scholarly journals which includes coverage from Volume I, Issue 1, up to a “moving wall” ranging from 3-5 years prior to the present date.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly access to 4,000 journals, also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies and other formats. Contains some full-text articles

Nexis Uni
Full-text interdisciplinary database accessing newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legislative histories and statistics.

New York Times current This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary. Full text from 1980. Nonscholarly. Available in LexisNexis.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 4 years prior to the current year.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of scholarly journals from over 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences.

PsycInfo
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to the Present
A landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debate and understanding about U.S. history.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Includes over 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines

Find Articles

Articles
To search for specific journal articles, click on the Articles link at the upper-left-hand corner of the Library Homepage. In Advanced Search, you may search by author, title, keyword, or journal name.

Find Journals

Journal Finder
On the Library homepage, use the tab JOURNALS and type in the name of the journal for which you are searching. The tab is listed at the top of the homepage on the left.

Google Scholar

Subject Guide

Margaret Burke

Email Me

Contact:

Axinn Library
Room 902M
margaret.g.burke@hofstra.edu

516-463-6448

Subjects: Drama and Dance, Fine Arts/Art History, Music, Romance Languages and Literatures, Women's Studies