Skip to main content

SOM ICE Experience: A-Z List

The resources in this guide are provided as single point access for online references to support the ICE curriculum.

A-Z List

= iPhone, = iPad, = Android, = Blackberry, = Windows phone

 

Name Cost Device Type Description Notes
3D4Medical Images & Applications Free Showcases 400 high-resolution medical images and animations created by 3D4Medical using 3D computer software, covering a wide range of clinical subjects -- from cells and bacteria to body organs, systems, brains, neurons, orthopedic and other medical subjects. Images can be saved as wallpaper, or used free of charge for personal presentations. 3D4Medical Images & Applications is free but there are other 3D4Medical apps that are fee based.
3M Littmann SoundBuilder Free A learning tool designed to help improve the auscultation skills of students and practicing clinicians.  
AccessMedicine Library Subscription App provides access to a handful of clinically relevant resources selected by the AccessMedicine advisory board. Included resources are: Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (QMDT), Fitzpatrick’s Clinical Dermatology Atlas, Diagnosaurus, and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. Registration to MyAccess is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.
Adobe Acrobat Reader Free Allows you to view PDF documents on mobile devices.  
AHRQ ePSS Free An application designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients.

The ePSS for Android Smartphone/Tablet is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.
 
AnkiMobile Fee-Based ($24.99) Allows you to create flashcards and synchronize across multiple mobile and computer devices. Called "AnkiDroid Flaschards" on Google Play Store.
Calculate (Medical Calculator) by QxMD Free A next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool for iPhone, iPad, Android and Windows, freely available to the medical community. Registration required when first accessing the app.
Canopy Medical Translator Free A free medical translation tool. Provides translations in 15 languages (and counting) and access to live medical interpreters.  
ClinicalKey Library Subscription App provides access to all subscribed resources on the ClinicalKey platform. Registration for an individual ClinicalKey account is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.
Docphin Free A customizable journal reading app. Allows you to follow your favorite journals, search PubMed, and access over 1,000 landmark articles by specialty, topic, or drug class. Full-text access is only available for the Hofstra, Axinn Library's collection and not the School of Medicine/Northwell collection.
drawMD Series Free Fast, free, simple, and effective way to communicate with your patients by sketching on medical illustrations relevant to general surgery. Various DrawMD apps are available (e.g. general surgery, cardiology, orthopedics, etc.)
Dropbox Free Allows you to view, store, and share files. DropBox account required.
Dynamed Mobile Library Subscription A mobile version of the DynaMed database. Registration required
EbscoHost Library Subscription A major indexing resource for academic literature. Use this app to get access to CINAHL. Must authenticate the app through Ebscohost first.
EndNote Free Bibliographic tool to manage research materials. EndNote account required. For basic information on EndNote, click here.
Epocrates

Free

A drug reference app. Delivers current safety, diagnostic, and treatment information. Epocrates (free) offers Drug Information, Interaction Check, Pill ID, Formulary, athenaText, and Tables. Epocrates Plus (fee-based) offers additional resources such as Clinical Practice Guidelines, Disease Information, Alternative Medicine, etc. Epocrates Plus available for purchase.
Eponyms (for students) Free App provides short descriptions of more than 1700 common and obscure medical eponyms. Called "Eponyms" in the Google Play Store.
Evernote Free Allows you to create notes, capture images, manage lists, and share content with others. Evernote account  required.
Figure 1 Free Medical image sharing app. Registration to Figure 1 required.
First Consult Library Subscription A clinical decision support resource that leverages evidence-based medical information to provide easy access to the latest on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis and prevention. First Consult is part of ClinicalKey. Registration for a personal ClinicalKey account is required.
Google Drive Free Allows you to view, store, and share files. Google account  required.
iAnnotate PDF Fee-Based ($9.99) Allows you to read, mark up, and share PDF, DOC, PPT and image files.  
JAMA Network Challenge Free Image quiz app. Images pulled from The JAMA Network.  
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide 2015 Fee-Based ($29.99) App features up-to-date authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care.  
Medibabble Translator Free A free medical translation app. Comes with English and Spanish as the primary languages. Can download Chinese-Cantonese, Chinese-Mandarin, French, German, Haitian Creole, and Russian for free.  
MedPage Today Free Delivers breaking medical news to your mobile device. Free MedPage Today account registration required.
Medscape Free App provides the most comprehensive set of tools to support clinicians with all of their professional needs, including decision-making support at the point-of-care, medical news and perspectives from thought leaders across medicine, engaging CME courses to support professional development, and much more Free Medscape account registration required.
Medscape MedPulse Free Delivers breaking medical news to your mobile device. Free Mescape account registration required.
Micromedex Library Subscription App provides on-the-go access to the industry's most trusted drug information. Must authenticate the app through the Micromedex database. Ask a librarian for installation assistance.
Microsoft OneNote Free Allows you to create notes, capture images, manage lists, and share content with others. Microsoft account required.
NEJM This Week Free The latest medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice, from the most trusted name in medicine - The New England Journal of Medicine.  
New England Journal of Medicine Challenge Fee-Based ($2.99) Image quiz app. Images pulled from the New England Journal of Medicine.  
Pediatric Care Online Library Subscription App provides access to resources on Pediatric Care Online such as Quick Reference and the Red Book. Registration for an individual Pediatric Care Online account is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.
Psychiatry Online Library Subscription Mobile site allows users to "pair" their device to get access to Psychiatry Online content from any location with Internet access. Registration to My POL is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for registration and pairing instructions. Users must re-pair every 90 days.
PubMed on Tap

Fee-based ($2.99).

PubMed on Tap Lite is free.

App that searches PubMed and PubMed Central to find, display, and import reference information.  
PubMed4Hh

Free

App for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Developed by the National Library of Medicine.  
QxMD Read

Free

A customizable journal reading app. Provides a simple interface that drives discovery and seamless access to the medical literature (if subscribed) by reformatting it into a personalized digital journal. Full-text access is only available for the Hofstra, Axinn Library's collection and not the School of Medicine/Northwell collection.
STAT!Ref Library Subscription App provides access to Stat!Ref books that are subscribed through the library. Registration to My STAT!Ref is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.
UpToDate Library Subscription A mobile version of the UpToDate database.

Registration to an individual UpToDate account is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.

VisualDx Library Subscription Decision support and reference tool that includes over 1,300 diagnoses and over 29,000 medical images to aid diagnosis and therapeutic decisions. Registration for a personal VisualDx account is required. Click here (Hofstra) or here (Northwell) for installation and registration instructions.


This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University