Skip to main content

SOM ICE Experience: Journals

The resources in this guide are provided as single point access for online references to support the ICE curriculum.

Journal Apps

= iPhone, = iPad, = Android, = Blackberry, = Windows phone

 

Name Cost Device Type Description Notes
Docphin Free A customizable journal reading app. Allows you to follow your favorite journals, search PubMed, and access over 1,000 landmark articles by specialty, topic, or drug class. Full-text access is only available for the Hofstra, Axinn Library's collection and not the School of Medicine/Northwell collection.
EbscoHost Library Subscription A major indexing resource for academic literature. Use this app to get access to CINAHL. Must authenticate the app through Ebscohost first.
NEJM This Week Free The latest medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice, from the most trusted name in medicine - The New England Journal of Medicine. The app provides free access to articles published in the last 7 days and selected videos, images, and audio. To access more New England Journal of Medicine articles, visit the library website.
PubMed on Tap

Fee-based ($2.99).

PubMed on Tap Lite is free.

App that searches PubMed and PubMed Central to find, display, and import reference information.  
PubMed4Hh

Free

App for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Developed by the National Library of Medicine.  
QxMD Read

Free

A customizable journal reading app. Provides a simple interface that drives discovery and seamless access to the medical literature (if subscribed) by reformatting it into a personalized digital journal. Full-text access is only available for the Hofstra, Axinn Library's collection and not the School of Medicine/Northwell collection.


This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University