Open-Access Resources: Communication Studies

Hot Docs Doc Library - http://www.hotdocslibrary.ca/
"...unique library ...home to a good, electic selection of films...that are well suited to students interested in documentary filmmaking."

Adviews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials - http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adviews/
"Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.

Europa Film Treasures - http://www.europafilmtreasures.eu/
This collection of films, documents, interviews, programs, and quizzes (all available in 5 languages) is derived from, "A pan-european network of 30 film archives...[and includes] More than 145 films produced between 1894 and 1999, discovered, restored and scored...[viewable via] Free access in full-screen mode. Site [is] available in 5 languages: English, French, German, Italian and Spanish...[with] Subtitling available in 5 languages...[and is ] frequently expanded with new contributions." Read the attached document located at the bottom of this box for an extensive description of Europa Film Treasures.

National Jukebox - http://www.loc.gov/jukebox/genres
"The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives."  The link above is set to Genres which include: Classical Music/Opera; Ethnic Characterizations; Popular Music; Religions; Spoken Word.

Pacifica Foundation - Radio Archives - http://www.pacificaradioarchives.org/

"Pacifica Radio Archives (PRA) is considered by historians and scholars to be one of the oldest and most important audio collections in the world. Chronicling the political, cultural and artistic movements of the second half of the 20th century, Pacifica radio programs include documentaries, performances, discussions, debates, drama, poetry readings, commentaries and radio arts. - See more at: http://www.pacificaradioarchives.org/about-archives#sthash.nWVmFw8Q.dpuf"

675 Free Movies from Open Culture - http://www.openculture.com/freemoviesonline

"Watch 675 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors. The collection features films by Alfred Hitchcock, Orson Welles, Fritz Lang, Andrei Tarkovksy, John Huston, plus some early short films by Tarantino, Kubrick and Truffaut. You will also find masterful performances by Humphrey Bogart, Laurence Olivier, Audrey Hepburn, Edward G. Robinson, John Wayne and Bette Davis.

The Free Movies collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns (many withJohn Wayne); Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation. We also have special collections of Oscar Winning Movies and Films by Andrei Tarkovsky and Charlie Chaplin."

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation - http://archives.cbc.ca/
Digital archives of television and radio programs that, "are chosen by CBC staff to represent a range of themes of historical importance to Canadians. In addition to focusing on significant moments, events and figures, an effort is made to represent a range of time periods (1920s to 2000) and regions of Canada...The CBC Digital Archives site has over 10,000 clips in English and French...the content of the site [is updated] at least once a week."

DataDrivenJournalism.net - http://datadrivenjournalism.net/
"a hub for news and resources from the community of journalists, editors, designers and developers who use data in the service of journalism. On our site you’ll be able to:

• Get a behind the scenes look at data journalism projects from around the world;
• Learn about new tools and methods for how to work with data effectively;
• Find out and get informed about training events and job opportunities in your area;
• Stay on top of the latest developments in the field.

The website is part of the European Journalism Centre’s Data Driven Journalism initiative.

Data Driven Journalism is one of the leading initiatives for training, resources and networking in the area of data journalism. Founded in 2010, the programme is dedicated to accelerating the diffusion and improving the quality of data journalism around the world, whether the focus is on investigations, news applications, putting news into context, or simply using data to inform and assist journalistic work.

Through a combination of knowledge sharing via training courses, conferences and online resources, and encouraging collaboration by building and strengthening the community of practitioners, we aim to enable more journalists, editors, news developers and designers to make better use of data and incorporate it further into their work."

The Warwick Research Archive Portal (WRAP) - http://wrap.warwick.ac.uk/
"is the home of the University's open access research archive. WRAP represents a subset of the material presented in the University of Warwick Publications service but these items are all presented in full text format. Current contents include; journal articles, conference papers, reports, book chapters, working papers and more. WRAP is also the home of the University's electronic thesis archive and is harvested weekly by the British Library's EThOS service."

National Jukebox - http://www.loc.gov/jukebox/genres
"The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives."  The link above is set to Genres which include: Classical Music/Opera; Ethnic Characterizations; Popular Music; Religions; Spoken Word.