LibGuides: Sociology Resources: Research Methods and Sources of Data

Library Databases

Data USA This link opens in a new window Visualization engine for public US Government data
Infoshare This link opens in a new window Contains data drawn from the United States Census. A good source of demographic and other data on New York City and New York States. Generates cross tabulations and other charts.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window Includes over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window Includes more than 30,000 statistical tables from government bodies.
UNData This link opens in a new window Pools major UN databases and those of several international into one single internet environment. The databases, tables and glossaries cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
USAFacts This link opens in a new window An integrated look at revenue and spending across federal, state and local governments