LibGuides: Sociology Resources: Race and Ethnicity

Introduction

This section contains information on useful resources for sociology courses on race and on ethnic relations.

Please see the Religion Resources Libguide tabs for Jewish Studies and for Muslim Americans for additional resources on ethnicity in America.

Electronic Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
Documents the full range of the African American experience during the period—from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present
Traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape.
Sage Encyclopedia of African American Cultural Heritage in North America
Provides an accessible ready reference on the retention and continuity of African culture within the United States.
Companion to African-American Philosophy
This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary collection of newly commissioned articles brings together distinguished voices in the field of Africana philosophy and African-American social and political thought.
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions
Encompasses of all religious traditions in the Caribbean.
National Indian Law Library
Maintained by the Native American Rights Fund this site provides a central access to works on laws relating to Native Americans.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Latino/a Theology
Ecumenical work by wide range of scholars.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Vol. 24, Race
Excellent source on the historical and present day race issues.
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Published 2012. Contains information on smaller tribes.

Resources for the Sociology of Race and Ethnicity

African Studies Centre
Freely available on the Web. Contains some full-text but is a major index of articles on Africa.Will not interact with Journal Finder.
Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI)
This is a free database provided by the Jewish National and University Library. This is an index which does not interact with Journal Finder. A two-step process of checking Journal Finder must be used. The material is compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles, in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, primarily from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library. Not exclusively sociological in content.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Current news and political, economic, cultural and business information for 192 countries.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window Contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Specialized Print Reference Resources

This is a selective list of specialized encyclopedias and other reference items which cover race relations and ethnicity. You can use the online catalog or consult a reference librarian to find if Hofstra University Library holds other resources in an specific area of interest to you. Note that electronic encyclopedias are more recently published and up-to-date.

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience Ref. DT14 .A37435 2005 This is a classic work.

Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social,Cultural, Economic, and Political History. Ref E184.A75 A842649 2014.

Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the Twentieth Century Ref E77.E94 2015

The Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States Ref E184.S75 H557 2003. Statistics not up-to-date. Good source for historical overview and significant documents.

Subject Guide

David Woolwine

Contact:

902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Criminology, International Students, LGBTQ+ Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Sociology

Sociology Resources: Race and Ethnicity

Related Guide

Introduction

Electronic Reference Resources

Resources for the Sociology of Race and Ethnicity

Subject Guide