Hofstra University Library

LibGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | O | P | R | S | T | U | W | Z

A
About LibGuides
by Howard Graves - Last Updated Aug 18, 2009
Accounting, Taxation & Business Law
by Carol Simon - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Access the subscription databases and link to CCH IntelliConnect and RIA Checkpoint for standards, rules & regulations.
Addiction Studies
by Amy Catalano, Gloria Grant Roberson - Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
African Studies Resources
by Frances Shieh, David Woolwine - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
Anthropology Resources
by David Woolwine - Last Updated May 3, 2013
ASTRONOMY
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Apr 22, 2010
Information on almost all subjects, including Astronomy, is available from many different sources (most common are books, articles, and the Internet). Select the type of desired resource by clicking on the green tab.
Autism
by Amy Catalano, Gloria Grant Roberson - Last Updated May 1, 2013
This LibGuide will help users identify information and resources pertaining to Autism.
B
BIOLOGY
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Oct 17, 2009
Information pertaining to Biological Sciences is available from many different sources (most common are books, articles and internet). Click on the appropriate resource (tab) below for the desired information.
Business Ratios
by Carol Simon - Last Updated Aug 29, 2010
Use standard measures to evaluate a company's performance
C
Children's Literature
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Sep 6, 2012
A guide to finding and using children's literature in the classroom both in print and on the web.
Community Health
by Amy Catalano, Gloria Grant Roberson - Last Updated May 16, 2013
Company Information
by Carol Simon - Last Updated Nov 16, 2010
Find information about a company using the Research Databases
Comparative European Governments
by Georgina Martorella - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Comparative Literature: A Basic Subject Guide
by Alan Bailin - Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
For research related to literature from languages other than English.
Counseling
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
Curriculum Materials Center
by Amy Catalano, Gloria Grant Roberson - Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
Bibliographies of materials and teaching tools available in the CMC.
D
Dance Education
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Oct 22, 2012
Disabilities and Special Education
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Mar 22, 2012
A guide on using library and other sources to do research and coursework on disabilities in the context of special education.
Doctoral Program in Learning and Teaching and FLPS
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Oct 22, 2012
Library resources and research help for students in the Learning and Teaching and Foundations of Education, Leadership and Policy Studies doctoral programs in the School of Education.
Doctoral Program in Literacy Studies
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Dec 13, 2011
Library Resources and Research Help for Students in the Literacy Studies Doctoral Program
E
Economics: A Basic Subject Guide
by Alan Bailin - Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
Elementary Education
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Aug 29, 2012
This guide may be used to help you do research on topics in education, find children's literature and materials for lesson plans.
English Subject Guide
by Ann Grafstein - Last Updated Feb 13, 2013
For research related to English language and literature.
F
Faculty Diversity
by Claudia McGivney - Last Updated May 11, 2010
Books, links to articles on diversity in the academy, particularly focusing on faculty diversity.
Finding Digital Images
by Margaret Burke - Last Updated May 8, 2013
Guide to web-based licensed and open source image collections
Fine Arts and Art History
by Margaret Burke - Last Updated May 1, 2013
This guide will lead you to resources in the Fine Arts and Art History.
Foundations of Education
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Dec 13, 2011
G
Geography: A Basic Subject Guide
by Alan Bailin - Last Updated Dec 14, 2012
Government Information Guide
by Georgina Martorella - Last Updated May 7, 2013
This guide will assist you in locating information from international, U.S. government, state, and local governments.
Guide to the Common Core Learning Standards
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
This guide was created by Library graduate intern, Tara King, and is maintained by Professor Catalano
I
Industry Information
by Carol Simon - Last Updated Nov 16, 2010
Locate industry surveys, identify industrial codes and find industry specific news and articles.
Irish Famine
by Margaret Burke - Last Updated May 2, 2013
This guide will assist you in finding both primary and secondary sources related to the Great Irish Famine.
Irish Studies
by Margaret Burke - Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
This resource will act as a guide for research in the area of Irish Studies.
J
Journal Finder: How to Find the Full Text of Articles in Periodicals
by Ann Grafstein - Last Updated May 16, 2013
This guide shows you how to locate the full text of an article when it is not available in the database you are searching.
Journalism
by Annmarie Boyle - Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Here you will find listings of key reference tools, tips on finding books and articles, as well as searching the web. You can also access important RSS Feeds, Blogs and Podcasts along with information on careers.
L
LGBT Studies
by David Woolwine - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Library Research - Prof. Migliaccio, Writing Studies and Composition
by Ann Grafstein - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
This subject guide is intended to suggest resources that can best help you do your assignment on the Family in America.
Library Research - Writing Studies and Compostion2012- Prof. Migliaccio
by Ann Grafstein - Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
The purpose of this guide is to acquaint you with some of the library resources you will need in order to do your assignments forWSC001.
Library Research WSC/FYC
by Ann Grafstein - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
This guide is intended to direct you to some of the resources that will help you do your assignment for your WSC course.
Linguistics: A Basic Subject Guide
by Alan Bailin - Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
Literacy Studies
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Oct 22, 2012
M
Marketing 101
by William Caniano - Last Updated Oct 9, 2012
Micro-Freakonomics: New York's Hidden Economy
by Alan Bailin - Last Updated Dec 14, 2012
Subject Guide for the course "Micro-Freakonomics: New York's Hidden Economy"
Music
by Frances Shieh - Last Updated Oct 12, 2012
P
Philosophy Resources
by David Woolwine - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Physical Education and Sports Sciences (PESP)
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Dec 13, 2011
Here you will find both general and specific library and internet sources for all programs in the PESP department.
Plagiarism
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Mar 3, 2013
This guide provides resources for students on avoiding plagiarism and teaching materials for instructors. This guide was created by Tara King, library graduate student intern, and is maintained by Professor Catalano.
Political Science
by Georgina Martorella - Last Updated Apr 24, 2013
This is a guide to selected resources in Political Science
Politics of the European Union
by Georgina Martorella - Last Updated Feb 9, 2013
Polls & Surveys
by Annmarie Boyle - Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
R
Radio
by Annmarie Boyle - Last Updated Oct 5, 2011
Religion Resources
by David Woolwine - Last Updated May 3, 2013
Romance Languages & Literatures
by Margaret Burke - Last Updated May 1, 2013
A guide to scholarly resources in the field of Romance Languages and Literatures
S
School of Communication Databases
by Annmarie Boyle - Last Updated Aug 25, 2012
Here you will find an expansive lists of databases for undergraduate and graduate research in Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations, Radio, Television, Film, Speech Communication, Rhetoric, and Performance Studies.
SEC Forms
by Carol Simon - Last Updated Aug 29, 2010
Brief descriptions of some of the major forms filed with the US Security & Exchange Commission. Full descriptions are located at the SEC website http://www.sec.gov/info/edgar/forms/edgform.pdf
Secondary Education
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Aug 29, 2012
This guide may be used to help you find research on topics in Education. You will also be directed toward sources of information for writing lesson plans.
Sociology Resources
by David Woolwine - Last Updated May 3, 2013
SOM 2012 Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine Biomedical Scholarship Seminar Series
by Debra Rand - Last Updated Mar 7, 2012
This Series Is Being Presented in the School of Medicine Medical Education Theater
SOM Augustus White III Lecture
by Debra Rand - Last Updated Sep 21, 2011
Guide to accompany the lecture given on September 14, 2011 at the Hoftsra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine.
SOM EndNote Web at the Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
by Debra Rand - Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
This guide will help you navigate EndNote Web - a citation and reference management product.
SOM Faculty Author Collection
by Debra Rand - Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
The following guide accompanies the current exhibit of books generously donated by the teaching faculty of the Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
SOM ICE Experience
by Debra Rand - Last Updated Apr 18, 2013
The following is a list of resources for medical students to utilize during their Hofstra SOM Initial Clinical Experience sessions.
Strategic Planning GB180
by William Caniano - Last Updated Feb 22, 2013
Strategy: Theorist, Philosopher, Practioners
by William Caniano - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
How to out plan, out execute and defeat your opponents
Streaming Video
by Sarah McCleskey - Last Updated May 20, 2013
Provides descriptions and links to licensed, internet, and pay-per-view streaming video resources
SUS Library Introduction
by William Caniano - Last Updated May 15, 2013
T
Television
by Annmarie Boyle - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Test 1 Public
by Debra Rand - Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
TOPICS IN MANAGEMENT
by William Caniano - Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
U
US Industry Codes
by Carol Simon - Last Updated Aug 29, 2010
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) codes NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes
W
What is Journal Finder?
by Dawn Romano - Last Updated Sep 12, 2012
Women's Studies
by Margaret Burke - Last Updated May 1, 2013
This guide will lead you to a variety of resources in Women's Studies
Writing Studies & Composition II
by Annmarie Boyle - Last Updated Feb 3, 2013
Survey of the University Libraries' resources, services, and facilities.
Writing Studies & Compostion
by Ann Grafstein - Last Updated Nov 12, 2012
This guide is designed to give you some tips on how to find information for your WSC assignments. You are often expected to find information in a variety of disciplines. This guide shows you some of the databases that may be useful to you.
Written Expressions II 2012
by Ann Grafstein - Last Updated Mar 8, 2012
The purpose of this guide is to help you locate the resources you need to do your WE II assignment.
Z
Zotero
by Amy Catalano - Last Updated Nov 15, 2011
A guide to using Zotero, the free, open source, bibliographic management system.
ZOTERO Citation Manager
by Annmarie Boyle - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012

What are LibGuides?

LibGuides are created and maintained by Hofstra University librarians. They provide research sources, strategies, and support to the Hofstra community.

Individual guides cover broad subject areas, specific topics, and general research techniques.

There are several ways to access individual LibGuides from this page: by subject category, by clicking on tags, or by searching.

For more information about accessing and using LibGuides, see About LibGuides.

If you are looking for answers to specific questions (e.g., FAQs), please go to LibAnswers or use the "Ask Us" button on the right side of the screen.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University